LibGuides: Foreign Law Research: Full Text Journal Databases

JSTOR

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides a highly selective collection of journals, books, and primary sources. Combined, the materials surpass millions.
- This link opens in a new window

This database, available from the USC Libraries’ Databases Page, is a growing full text collection of most highly regarded social science, humanities, and science journals. It is most useful for older issues of journals however current issues for some journals are now available. Topics covered include law, political science, African Studies, Asian studies, and many others.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

CIAO This link opens in a new window CIAO is the largest online resource for documents, articles and scholarship on international politics and related fields. It includes over 500,000 pages from 300 publications.
- This link opens in a new window

This database, Columbia International Affairs Online, available from the USC Libraries’ Databases Page, publishes a wide range of international affairs and political science scholarship from 1991 to the present, including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects and proceedings from conferences.

Lexis & WestlawNext

Lexis (Lexis+) This link opens in a new window LexisNexis provides a wide range of legal and news sources on its Lexis+ research platform. Lexis access is restricted to students, staff, and faculty of the Gould School of Law. Email reference@law.usc.edu for the authorization code to set up an individual user account.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window Access to news, primary law (cases, statutes and regulations) and law review articles. The best source for primary law for USC students. faculty, and staff who are not affiliated with the law school.
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window Westlaw provides a wide range of legal primary and secondary sources on its research platform. Westlaw access is restricted to students, staff, and faculty of the Gould School of Law. Email reference@law.usc.edu for the authorization code to set up an individual user account.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

These three databases contain articles in full-text form in law reviews and bar journals, generally from the mid 1990s to the present.

Google Scholar & Google Books

Google Books This link opens in a new window Google Books allows you to search the full texts of books and magazines totaling over 25 million.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Use Google Scholar's search functions to look up California cases as well as opinions from the federal district courts in California and the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Both of these are useful and effective resources to search for international legal literature. If you are unable to obtain the full text of the article or book using Google Scholar or Google Books, you should follow up with a search of the catalogs to see if USC has access to it (either in print or electronically) and if not, request it through interlibrary loan.