LibGuides: International Criminal Law, Humanitarian Law, and Human Rights Research Guide: International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR)

• Official Website for International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda

International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda This link opens in a new window

The International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda was established by the United Nations Security Council in 1994 in order to judge the people responsible for the Rwandan genocide and other violations of international law that occurred in Rwanda in 1994. The Tribunal hears cases on genocide, crimes against humanity, and war crimes. The official website for the ICTR links to cases, the text of indictments, trial chamber decisions, tribunal judgments, and appeal chamber decisions. The website also includes case summaries, the ICTR statute, rules of procedure and evidence, Security Council resolutions, press releases, listings of indictments, and hearing transcripts. The Public Judicial Records Database holds all the public (non-confidential) judicial records of the Tribunal, such as indictments, motions, responses, decisions, transcripts and judgments.

ICTR Basic Documents and Case Law

ICTR Basic Documents and Case Law This link opens in a new window This database has more than 7,000 documents, including indictments, decisions and orders, from the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda covering the years 1995-2013.

This searchable database has documents and case related to the ICTR. The full search function allows you to search by document title, date, accused, statute, rule, case number, and UN document symbol. The advanced browse feature allows you to browse by ICTR case law, ICTR basic documents, UN documents, accused, and keywords.

The WESTLAW database, INT-ICTR

Westlaw (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window Westlaw provides a wide range of legal primary and secondary sources on its research platform. Westlaw access is restricted to students, staff, and faculty of the Gould School of Law. Email reference@law.usc.edu for the authorization code to set up an individual user account.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Includes all documents (judgments, decisions, orders, and indictments) issued by the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda.

Genocide Archive for Rwanda

Genocide Archive for Rwanda This link opens in a new window

This archive of materials brings together materials from a variety of organizations, including USC’s Shoah Foundation, on the Rwandan genocide. It has videos, audio recordings, maps, photographs, publications, and other documents chronicling the genocide. You can search the website and also browse by type of document, by place, or by topic.

Yale Genocide Program’s Rwandan Genocide Project

Yale Genocide Program's Rwandan Genocide Project
This page from Yale’s Genocide Studies Program has links to maps showing evidence of genocide, and databases of perpetrators and victims (beta versions), and a variety of papers on various aspects of the genocide prepared by scholars from the program.

Human Rights Watch: Rwanda

Human Rights Watch: Rwanda This link opens in a new window

Human Rights Watch’s page focuses on current human rights related issues in Rwanda. It has news releases, reports on Rwanda, commentary, letters sent by HRW personnel about human rights issues, and essential background information, including information about the genocide. Human Rights Watch also published A Digest of the Case Law of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda which outlines cases from the ICTR.