LibGuides: Immigration Law Research Guide: Secondary Sources

Locating Secondary Sources

Location information is provided for each secondary source listed below. For those sources listed as "Print: Law Library," please search the Law Library's catalog, Advocat. For more information on searching Advocat, consult the Using Advocat page in our "Using Online Catalogs" research guide. Some materials are located in the Immigration Clinic or the clinic director's office. These materials are only available to Clinic students. You may also wish to consult the Guide to Online Secondary Sources for additional secondary sources.

Treatises

Immigration Law and Procedure
This comprehensive treatise covers the full breadth of immigration law including: the development of immigration law, an overview of immigration institutions, entry into the United States, immigrants and nonimmigrants, and nationality and citizenship.

Practice Guides

Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook. Kurzban (Print: Clinic)

- This sourcebook, published by the American Immigration Lawyers Association, provides interpretations of federal case law and administrative decisions related to a number of immigration issues. Agency rulings and other sources of primary law are also thoroughly discussed.

Immigration Fundamentals: A Guide to Law & Practice. Fragomen & Bell (Bloomberg Law)

- This practice guide from the Practising Law Institute provides in-depth information on a wide variety of immigration issues. All types of primary sources are covered along with practice commentaries.

Steel on Immigration Law
Author Richard Steel's detailed guide on immigration law covers the Immigration and Nationality Act and all subsequent amendments, forms and fees, and nonimmigrant categories, among many other topics.
Immigration Law Service 2d
Immigration Law Service provides guidance on a number of immigration issues and discussions of primary sources of immigration law.
Immigration Procedures Handbok
This handbook discusses the current state of immigration law and changes in immigration legal practice. Instructions for completing immigration forms and when to file certain petitions are also included.
Immigration Law and Crimes
This guide is intended for practical use by immigration and criminal law attorneys. It provides information on criminal offenses that have immigration consequences and post conviction relief, as well as current case, statutory, and regulatory laws.
Immigration Law and the Family
Immigration Law and the Family provides analysis of issues related to family immigration applications including advice for completing forms required by the United States Citizenship & Immigration Service and the Department of State.
H-1B Handbook
This practice guide focuses on the entire H-1B visa application process for nonimmigrant employees.

Manuals

Immigration Court Practice Manual. U.S. Dept. of Justice, Executive Office for Immigration Review, Office of Chief Immigration Judge

- Manual for those practicing in immigration courts before agency immigration judges.

BIA Practice Manual. U.S. Dept. of Justice, Board of Immigration Appeals

- Guide for attorneys practicing before the Board of Immigration Appeals

Immigration Judge Benchbook. U.S. Dept. of Justice, Executive Office for Immigration Review

- The benchbook is intended for use by immigration judges in adjudication of immigration issues.

Current Awareness

Bender's Immigration and Nationality Act Service
Bender's Immigration and Nationality Act Service provides the full text of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) and allows for continuous updating on any amendments to the INA.
Bender's Immigration Bulletin
This bulletin provides primary law and legal analysis in a bi-monthly newsletter format.
Bender's Immigration Regulation Service
This service provides up-to-date information on immigration regulations and amendments.
Immigration Briefings
Monthly newsletter, with each issue acting as a mini-treatise on one immigration topic.
Interpreter Releases
A weekly newsletter providing analysis of case law, statutes, regulations, agency memoranda, and administrative decisions.

Periodicals

Many law reviews and journals contain articles on immigration issues. Refer to the Law Library's How to Find Journal Articles research guide for information on searching for journal articles. There are also a few immigration-specific law journals:

Nutshells

Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell. Weissbrodt & Danielson (Print: Law Library)

- Quick overview of immigration law designed for use by law students.