In addition to Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law, there are many other research databases available to you as a USC student. The Law Library’s databases are accessible from the Online Resources page. USC Libraries’ electronic databases are located here. Below are commonly used legal and non-legal databases that may be useful for your faculty research. However, be aware that this list is not exhaustive, and there may be other useful databases for your research issue.
Off-campus access to the Law Library’s and USC Libraries’ electronic resources (other than Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law) is through the USC Libraries’ Remote Access Portal at libproxy.usc.edu/login. Use your USC Login (the ID and password you use to access Brightspace) to access this portal. If you have any questions or problems with off-campus access to electronic resources, please contact the Law Library Reference Office (213-740-5070, reference@law.usc.edu) or USC Libraries using their online form.
| Database | Location(s) | Content |
| HeinOnline | Law Library’s Online Resources | Law journals, federal government documents, selective foreign and international documents, American Law Institute publications, Uniform Laws, English Reports, Legal Classics, etc. |
| Westlaw | lawschool.westlaw.com |
Secondary Sources >
Select your content category either from the Browse menu or as a post-search filter. |
| Lexis | lawschool.lexis.com |
Secondary Materials >
Select your content category from Browse menu or as a post-search filter. |
| Bloomberg Law | bloomberglaw.com |
|
|
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (1981-) Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 |
Law Library’s Online Resources | Citations to law review/journal articles (selective full-text and/or abstracts) |
| Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (1960-) | Law Library’s Online Resources | Citations to articles published in journals that focus on comparative, foreign, and international law |
| CQ Press Electronic Library (1972-) | USC Libraries’ Databases | Coverage of United States political issues and current affairs |
| Legislative Insight and ProQuest Congressional | USC Libraries' Databases | Congressional documents and information (federal legislative history); mostly full text |
| Making of Modern Law | Law Library’s Online Resources | Digitized historical legal treatises, primary sources (including trial documents and records) from the U.S., Britain, and other countries (1600-1970) |
| U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs (1832-1978) | Law Library’s Online Resources | Historical records and briefs of the U.S. Supreme Court |
| LLMC Digital | Law Library’s Online Resources | Primarily historical primary sources from U.S. federal and state jurisdictions and some foreign governments |
| Foreign Law Guide | Law Library’s Online Resources | Legal research guide covering many foreign countries |
USC Libraries’ Databases for Interdisciplinary Research (available at libguides.usc.edu/az.php)
| Database | Content |
| USC Libraries Search | Multidisciplinary |
| ArticleFirst | Multidisciplinary |
| JSTOR | Multidisciplinary |
| ProQuest Multiple Databases | Multidisciplinary |
| ProQuest Statistical Insight | Broad array of statistical information (U.S., U.S. States, International) |
| Data-Planet Statistical Datasets | U.S., U.S. States, International |
| Periodicals Archive Online | Multidisciplinary |
| PIO - Periodicals Index Online | Multidisciplinary |
| Current Contents Connect | Multidisciplinary |
| America: History and Life with Full Text | Historical coverage of U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present |
| Historical Abstracts with Full Text | Historical coverage of the world, excluding U.S. and Canada |
| OmniFile Full Text Mega (Wilson) | Multidisciplinary |
| ABI/INFORM Complete | Business and Economics |
|
Business Abstracts with Full Text (1982-) Business Periodicals Index Retrospective (1913-1982) |
Business and Economics |
| EconLit (Economic Literature Index) | Economics |
| Social Sciences Citation Index | Social Sciences (access through Web of Science) |
| Science Citation Index Expanded | Hard Sciences (access through Web of Science) |
| Sociological Abstracts | Sociology, Race, Poverty/Homelessness, Social Policy |
| PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) | Public Policy, Economics, Social Issues |
| ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) | Education |
| PsycARTICLES | Psychology |
| PsycINFO | Psychology |
| Medline | Health: Medical, Dental, Nursing |
| Arts and Humanities Citation Index | Arts and Humanities (access through Web of Science) |
| Book Review Digest Plus (Wilson) | Multidisciplinary |
| ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global | Dissertations and theses from around the world |
| ProQuest Historical Newspapers | Major U.S. & International newspapers (varying coverage from late 1700s-2000s) |