LibGuides: Online Resources: Online Resources A-Z

Law Library Online Resources A-Z

This guide lists the online resources available for use by USC Gould School of Law students, faculty, and staff. Online Resources with a lock () are limited to USC students, faculty, and staff. Online resources with are limited to USC Gould School of Law students, faculty, and staff. Consult the Accessing Online Resources page for more information. Email reference@law.usc.edu for assistance with any of our online resources, including resources that require a registration code to create an individual account.

Advocat (USC Law Library Catalog) This link opens in a new window Advocat provides access information for the law library's print and electronic collection, including titles available on Lexis, Westlaw, HeinOnline, and other electronic databases.
American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990 This link opens in a new window Archives of the ACLU from 1912-1990
- This link opens in a new window
Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals This link opens in a new window The full text of important decisions in various international tribunals and commentary about those decisions from international criminal law experts.
- This link opens in a new window
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window The Archives of Sexuality and Gender provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- This link opens in a new window
Aspen Learning Library (formerly Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids Library) This link opens in a new window Online library of study aids from Aspen Publishing including Examples & Explanations (E&Es), Emanuel Law Outlines, Glannon Guides, Emanuel CrunchTime, Casenote Legal Briefs and more. Create a personal account and download the app to take notes, highlight, save favorites, and read offline. Formerly called the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aids Library.
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window Bloomberg Law provides a wide variety of primary and secondary sources for legal research. Bloomberg Law access is restricted to students, staff, and faculty of the Gould School of Law. To sign up, click on "Register Academic Account" and register using your USC Gould email address.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) This link opens in a new window CALI offers online tutorials on various legal topics. CALI is restricted to students, staff, and faculty of the Gould School of Law. Email reference@law.usc.edu for the authorization code to set up an individual user account.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window Data on public and private companies, investment firms, capital transactions, and people. To create an individual account, you must first login to USC VPN (https://itservices.usc.edu/vpn/) and then use your usc email address to create an individualized user account. Contact reference@law.usc.edu for further assistance.
- This link opens in a new window
CEB AccessLaw This link opens in a new window Database with CEB's practice guides, California primary sources, news, and continuing legal education materials. CEB is restricted to students, staff, and faculty of the Gould School of Law. Email reference@law.usc.edu for a registration code.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Checkpoint This link opens in a new window Checkpoint is a tax and accounting database. Access is restricted to students, staff, and faculty of the Gould School of Law. Email reference@law.usc.edu for information on setting up an individual user account.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Docket Navigator This link opens in a new window Docket Navigator is a litigation intelligence platform covering patents, trademark, copyright and antitrust. Current USC Gould students, staff and faculty may register for free. Email reference@law.usc.edu for registration information.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
English Medieval Legal Documents This link opens in a new window A database on English medieval legal documents.
Fastcase This link opens in a new window A lower-cost legal research database with state and federal primary law. Our educational license is limited to USC Gould School of Law affiliated faculty, staff and students and does not include secondary sources.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window The Foreign Law Guide offers relevant information on sources of foreign law.
- This link opens in a new window
Free Legal Web Resources This link opens in a new window
Global-Regulation This link opens in a new window Access to translated legislation from over 90 countries.
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Full text access to digitized content of major legal periodicals, the Federal Register, and other law-related materials.
- This link opens in a new window
IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window Online access to the International Monetary Fund’s periodicals, books, working papers, studies, data, and statistical tools.
- This link opens in a new window
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window IFLP is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions.
- This link opens in a new window
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window Citations to law review and journal articles from 1981 to the present, some with links to full text.
- This link opens in a new window
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981 This link opens in a new window Citations to law review and journal articles published from 1908-1981.
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides a highly selective collection of journals, books, and primary sources. Combined, the materials surpass millions.
- This link opens in a new window
Law360 This link opens in a new window A legal current awareness tool providing up-to-date information for all major practice areas.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Leadership Connect This link opens in a new window Online directories with contact information for employees working in courts, media, and the federal government.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lexis (Lexis+) This link opens in a new window LexisNexis provides a wide range of legal and news sources on its Lexis+ research platform. Lexis access is restricted to students, staff, and faculty of the Gould School of Law. Email reference@law.usc.edu for the authorization code to set up an individual user account.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Digital Library This link opens in a new window Online access to study aids published by LexisNexis including its Mastering series, Questions & Answers (Q&A) series, and Understanding series.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lex Machina This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LibKey Nomad This link opens in a new window LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that lets you know which materials USC subscribes as you browse the web.
- This link opens in a new window
LLMC Digital This link opens in a new window Collection of historical and current government and legal documents from the US and foreign jurisdictions. Internet Explorer is the preferred browser for LLMC Digital.
- This link opens in a new window
Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window Important works on international law, foreign law, and comparative law published between 1600-1926 in English and continental European languages.
- This link opens in a new window
Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, 1600-1970 This link opens in a new window Statutes and codes from jurisdictions throughout the world.
- This link opens in a new window
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926 This link opens in a new window Important U.S. and British legal treatises published between 1800-1926.
- This link opens in a new window
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1970 This link opens in a new window Records of the American colonies, state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters and more, 1620-1970.
- This link opens in a new window
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 This link opens in a new window Titles describing trials published between 1600-1926.
- This link opens in a new window
Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law This link opens in a new window The Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law are peer reviewed, regularly updated, and comprehensive works covering the central and essential topics in international law and procedure.
- This link opens in a new window
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window Working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research.
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window Access to news, primary law (cases, statutes and regulations) and law review articles. The best source for primary law for USC students. faculty, and staff who are not affiliated with the law school.
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies - International Law This link opens in a new window Oxford Bibliographies is a database of high quality research guides on a variety of topics, including international law.
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Constitutions of the World This link opens in a new window Regularly updated and translated constitutions from countries throughout the world along with expert commentary.
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Provides online access to large selection of scholarly books on a variety of subjects including law.
- This link opens in a new window
PLI PLUS This link opens in a new window PLI PLUS is an online library and research platform providing practice-focused expert legal analysis.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PowerNotes This link opens in a new window PowerNotes is a browser extension that allows you to gather, organize, and track research easily and efficiently. Register for a free account using your school email address.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window Congressional publications, including hearings (testimony), committee prints, reports, documents, and full text of bills and public laws, and the U.S. Statutes at Large from 1789 to the present
- This link opens in a new window
Proquest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window A source for compiled federal legislative histories.
- This link opens in a new window
Proquest Supreme Court Insight This link opens in a new window A complete collection of Supreme Court documents, including opinions, dockets, petitions, oral arguments, joint appendices, and amicus briefs from 1975-1986.
- This link opens in a new window
TRACFED This link opens in a new window A database with data from many Federal agencies and offices. Some content can only be accessed in the USC Law building.
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 This link opens in a new window Historical records and briefs of the US Supreme Court.
- This link opens in a new window
USC Business Library Electronic Resources This link opens in a new window Databases on business related subjects subscribed to by the USC Gaughan & Tiberti Business Library.
USC Gould School of Law Archives This link opens in a new window The USC Gould School of Law Archives contains materials collected by the Gabriel and Matilda Barnett Information Technology Center and the Asa V. Call Law Library.
USC Libraries Catalog (Central Library System) This link opens in a new window The USC LIbraries Catalog provides access information for print and electronic sources at other USC libraries.
USC Libraries Electronic Databases This link opens in a new window Databases on a variety of subjects subscribed to by USC Libraries.
USC Medical Library Online Resources This link opens in a new window Databases on health science related subjects subscribed to by the USC Norris Medical LIbrary.
VitalLaw (Formerly Cheetah) This link opens in a new window VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah) has a variety of law, business, tax, securities, and healthcare tools.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
West Academic Study Aids This link opens in a new window West Academic Study Aids provides online access to study aids published by West Academic Publishing including hornbooks, nutshells, Gilbert and Blackletter outlines. Click on "Create an Account" to take notes, highlight, save favorites, and read offline.
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window Westlaw provides a wide range of legal primary and secondary sources on its research platform. Westlaw access is restricted to students, staff, and faculty of the Gould School of Law. Email reference@law.usc.edu for the authorization code to set up an individual user account.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window WRDS is a collection of datasets in a variety of business-related disciplines. Enter your law school or usc email address for a day pass (personalized accounts are not available for law school affiliated users).
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat This link opens in a new window A catalog of library holdings worldwide.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window A catalog of library holdings worldwide (via the FirstSearch platform).
- This link opens in a new window
World Constitutions Illustrated (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window This library enables legal scholars to research the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation. Also included are substantial constitutional histories for select countries.
- This link opens in a new window