LibGuides: Online Resources: Federal Legal Research

Federal Legal Research

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law provides a wide variety of primary and secondary sources for legal research. Bloomberg Law access is restricted to students, staff, and faculty of the Gould School of Law. To sign up, click on "Register Academic Account" and register using your USC Gould email address.
Fastcase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A lower-cost legal research database with state and federal primary law. Our educational license is limited to USC Gould School of Law affiliated faculty, staff and students and does not include secondary sources.
Free Legal Web Resources - Federal Legal Research This link opens in a new window
Free web resources for Federal legal research.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text access to digitized content of major legal periodicals, the Federal Register, and other law-related materials.
Lexis (Lexis+) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis provides a wide range of legal and news sources on its Lexis+ research platform. Lexis access is restricted to students, staff, and faculty of the Gould School of Law. Email reference@law.usc.edu for the authorization code to set up an individual user account.
LLMC Digital This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical and current government and legal documents from the US and foreign jurisdictions. Internet Explorer is the preferred browser for LLMC Digital.
PLI PLUS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PLI PLUS is an online library and research platform providing practice-focused expert legal analysis.
Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Congressional publications, including hearings (testimony), committee prints, reports, documents, and full text of bills and public laws, and the U.S. Statutes at Large from 1789 to the present
Proquest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A source for compiled federal legislative histories.
Proquest Supreme Court Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A complete collection of Supreme Court documents, including opinions, dockets, petitions, oral arguments, joint appendices, and amicus briefs from 1975-1986.
TRACFED This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database with data from many Federal agencies and offices. Some content can only be accessed in the USC Law building.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical records and briefs of the US Supreme Court.
VitalLaw (Formerly Cheetah) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah) has a variety of law, business, tax, securities, and healthcare tools.
Westlaw (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw provides a wide range of legal primary and secondary sources on its research platform. Westlaw access is restricted to students, staff, and faculty of the Gould School of Law. Email reference@law.usc.edu for the authorization code to set up an individual user account.