LibGuides: English Medieval Legal Documents Database: Private Legal Documents

Private Legal Documents

The distinction between real and personal property is emphasized in the history of wills. By the time of Glanvill it was conceded that the ecclesiastical courts had sole jurisdiction over deathbed gifts of personal property. However, no rights were allowed to the ecclesiastical courts regarding real property, and their rules ceased to have any effect on the land law. (Potter, Harold, and Albert K. R. Kiralfy. Potter's Historical Introduction to English Law and Its Institutions. 4th ed. London: Sweet and Maxwell, 1958 at p.562) For a detailed list of publications on wills and intestacies, see Maxwell. (Maxwell, William Harold, and Leslie F. Maxwell , comps. A Legal Bibliography of the British Commonwealth of Nations. 8 Vols. 2nd ed. London: Sweet and Maxwell, 1955 at pp.490-6)

Codex Diplomaticus Aevi Saxonici Kemble, John M., ed. and trans. Codex Diplomaticus Aevi Saxonici. 6 Vols. English Historical Society Publications. ed. London: Sumptibus Societatis, 1839-1848. Abstract: Contains 1349 documents including most of the existing Anglo-Saxon charters, a large number of private legal documents, conveyances of land, leases, and wills, ranging from AD 604 to ca. AD 1061. Latin translation from the Anglo-Saxon.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Diplomatarium Anglicum Aevi Saxonici; a Collection of English Charters, From the Reign of King Aethelbert of Kent, A.D. DC. V. to That of William the Conqueror ... With a Translation of the Anglo-Saxon. Thorpe, Benjamin, ed. Diplomatarium Anglicum Aevi Saxonici; a Collection of English Charters, From the Reign of King Aethelbert of Kent, A.D. DC. V. to That of William the Conqueror ... With a Translation of the Anglo-Saxon. London: Macmillan, 1865. Abstract: A collection of some 325 English charters from the reign of Aethelbert of Kent, AD 605 to the Norman Conquest, with a translation of the Anglo-Saxon.
Anglo-Saxon Wills Whitelock, Dorothy, and Harold D. Hazeltine, ed. Anglo-Saxon Wills. Cambridge Studies in English Legal History. Holmes Beach, FL: Gaunt, 1986. Abstract: Original edition, with translation and notes by Dorothy Whitelock, published in 1930 by Cambridge University Press. Republished by Gaunt (Holmes Beach, FL) in 1986 with comments on the 1930 edition by H. D. Hazeltine.

A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.

A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.

A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.

A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.

Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.

Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.

Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.

Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall Sharpe, Reginald R., ed. Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall. 2 Vols. London : John C. Francis, 1889-1990.

Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln... Gibbons, Alfred W., ed. Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln, Rutland, Northampton, Huntington, Bedford, Buckingham, Oxford, Leicester, and Hertford, 1280-1547. Lincoln Record Series I. Lincoln, J. Williamson, 1888. 244p. OCLC: 5249382 Abstract: Text in English.
Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall Sharpe, Reginald R., ed. Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall. 2 Vols. London : John C. Francis, 1889-1990.

Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln... Gibbons, Alfred W., ed. Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln, Rutland, Northampton, Huntington, Bedford, Buckingham, Oxford, Leicester, and Hertford, 1280-1547. Lincoln Record Series I. Lincoln, J. Williamson, 1888. 244p. OCLC: 5249382 Abstract: Text in English.
Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall Sharpe, Reginald R., ed. Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall. 2 Vols. London : John C. Francis, 1889-1990.

Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln... Gibbons, Alfred W., ed. Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln, Rutland, Northampton, Huntington, Bedford, Buckingham, Oxford, Leicester, and Hertford, 1280-1547. Lincoln Record Series I. Lincoln, J. Williamson, 1888. 244p. OCLC: 5249382 Abstract: Text in English.
Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Cornish Wills, 1342-1540 Orme, Nicholas, ed. Cornish Wills, 1342-1540. Devon and Cornwall Record Society, n.s. v.41. Exeter, The Society, 2007. 294p. Abstract: Contains all the 122 Cornish wills known to exist up to the year 1540. All the wills are presented in English in complete, rather than abbreviated form.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall Sharpe, Reginald R., ed. Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall. 2 Vols. London : John C. Francis, 1889-1990.

Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858) Great Britain. National Archives. Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858). Note: Research guide available at http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/wills-or-administrations-before-1858/.
North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588 Clay, John W. North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588. 2v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.116, v.121. Durham: Andrews & Co. 1908. Abstract: Wills proved in the Prerogative court of Canterbury.
Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln... Gibbons, Alfred W., ed. Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln, Rutland, Northampton, Huntington, Bedford, Buckingham, Oxford, Leicester, and Hertford, 1280-1547. Lincoln Record Series I. Lincoln, J. Williamson, 1888. 244p. OCLC: 5249382 Abstract: Text in English.
The Fifty Earliest English Wills in the Court of Probate, London. : A.D. 1387-1439; With a Priest's of 1454. Furnivall, Frederick J., ed. The Fifty Earliest English Wills in the Court of Probate, London. : A.D. 1387-1439; With a Priest's of 1454. Early English Text Society. Original series, 78. London : Oxford University Press, 1964. Abstract: Reprint of 1882 edition. Copied and edited from the original registers in Somerset House.
Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Cornish Wills, 1342-1540 Orme, Nicholas, ed. Cornish Wills, 1342-1540. Devon and Cornwall Record Society, n.s. v.41. Exeter, The Society, 2007. 294p. Abstract: Contains all the 122 Cornish wills known to exist up to the year 1540. All the wills are presented in English in complete, rather than abbreviated form.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall Sharpe, Reginald R., ed. Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall. 2 Vols. London : John C. Francis, 1889-1990.

Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858) Great Britain. National Archives. Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858). Note: Research guide available at http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/wills-or-administrations-before-1858/.
North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588 Clay, John W. North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588. 2v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.116, v.121. Durham: Andrews & Co. 1908. Abstract: Wills proved in the Prerogative court of Canterbury.
The Fifty Earliest English Wills in the Court of Probate, London. : A.D. 1387-1439; With a Priest's of 1454. Furnivall, Frederick J., ed. The Fifty Earliest English Wills in the Court of Probate, London. : A.D. 1387-1439; With a Priest's of 1454. Early English Text Society. Original series, 78. London : Oxford University Press, 1964. Abstract: Reprint of 1882 edition. Copied and edited from the original registers in Somerset House.
Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln... Gibbons, Alfred W., ed. Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln, Rutland, Northampton, Huntington, Bedford, Buckingham, Oxford, Leicester, and Hertford, 1280-1547. Lincoln Record Series I. Lincoln, J. Williamson, 1888. 244p. OCLC: 5249382 Abstract: Text in English.
Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Cornish Wills, 1342-1540 Orme, Nicholas, ed. Cornish Wills, 1342-1540. Devon and Cornwall Record Society, n.s. v.41. Exeter, The Society, 2007. 294p. Abstract: Contains all the 122 Cornish wills known to exist up to the year 1540. All the wills are presented in English in complete, rather than abbreviated form.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall Sharpe, Reginald R., ed. Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall. 2 Vols. London : John C. Francis, 1889-1990.

Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858) Great Britain. National Archives. Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858). Note: Research guide available at http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/wills-or-administrations-before-1858/.
North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588 Clay, John W. North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588. 2v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.116, v.121. Durham: Andrews & Co. 1908. Abstract: Wills proved in the Prerogative court of Canterbury.
The Fifty Earliest English Wills in the Court of Probate, London. : A.D. 1387-1439; With a Priest's of 1454. Furnivall, Frederick J., ed. The Fifty Earliest English Wills in the Court of Probate, London. : A.D. 1387-1439; With a Priest's of 1454. Early English Text Society. Original series, 78. London : Oxford University Press, 1964. Abstract: Reprint of 1882 edition. Copied and edited from the original registers in Somerset House.
Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln... Gibbons, Alfred W., ed. Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln, Rutland, Northampton, Huntington, Bedford, Buckingham, Oxford, Leicester, and Hertford, 1280-1547. Lincoln Record Series I. Lincoln, J. Williamson, 1888. 244p. OCLC: 5249382 Abstract: Text in English.
Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Cornish Wills, 1342-1540 Orme, Nicholas, ed. Cornish Wills, 1342-1540. Devon and Cornwall Record Society, n.s. v.41. Exeter, The Society, 2007. 294p. Abstract: Contains all the 122 Cornish wills known to exist up to the year 1540. All the wills are presented in English in complete, rather than abbreviated form.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall Sharpe, Reginald R., ed. Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall. 2 Vols. London : John C. Francis, 1889-1990.

Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858) Great Britain. National Archives. Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858). Note: Research guide available at http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/wills-or-administrations-before-1858/.
North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588 Clay, John W. North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588. 2v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.116, v.121. Durham: Andrews & Co. 1908. Abstract: Wills proved in the Prerogative court of Canterbury.
The Fifty Earliest English Wills in the Court of Probate, London. : A.D. 1387-1439; With a Priest's of 1454. Furnivall, Frederick J., ed. The Fifty Earliest English Wills in the Court of Probate, London. : A.D. 1387-1439; With a Priest's of 1454. Early English Text Society. Original series, 78. London : Oxford University Press, 1964. Abstract: Reprint of 1882 edition. Copied and edited from the original registers in Somerset House.
Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln... Gibbons, Alfred W., ed. Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln, Rutland, Northampton, Huntington, Bedford, Buckingham, Oxford, Leicester, and Hertford, 1280-1547. Lincoln Record Series I. Lincoln, J. Williamson, 1888. 244p. OCLC: 5249382 Abstract: Text in English.
Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Cornish Wills, 1342-1540 Orme, Nicholas, ed. Cornish Wills, 1342-1540. Devon and Cornwall Record Society, n.s. v.41. Exeter, The Society, 2007. 294p. Abstract: Contains all the 122 Cornish wills known to exist up to the year 1540. All the wills are presented in English in complete, rather than abbreviated form.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall Sharpe, Reginald R., ed. Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall. 2 Vols. London : John C. Francis, 1889-1990.

Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858) Great Britain. National Archives. Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858). Note: Research guide available at http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/wills-or-administrations-before-1858/.
North Country Wills: Being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588 Clay, John W. North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588. 2v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.116, v.121. Durham: Andrews & Co. 1908. Abstract: Wills proved in the Prerogative court of Canterbury.
Early Northampton Wills: Preserved in the Northamptonshire Record Office Edwards, Dorothy, ed. Early Northampton Wills: preserved in the Northamptonshire Record Office. Northamptonshire Record Society v.42. Northampton, The Society, 2005. 289p. ISBN: 0901275646 Abstract: Contains 145 wills from the period 1462 to 1509. Most are in Latin. Mainly wills of trades-people with a sprinkling of priests and minor gentry. 27 were made by women, mainly wealthy widows.
Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln... Gibbons, Alfred W., ed. Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln, Rutland, Northampton, Huntington, Bedford, Buckingham, Oxford, Leicester, and Hertford, 1280-1547. Lincoln Record Series I. Lincoln, J. Williamson, 1888. 244p. OCLC: 5249382 Abstract: Text in English.
Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Cornish Wills, 1342-1540 Orme, Nicholas, ed. Cornish Wills, 1342-1540. Devon and Cornwall Record Society, n.s. v.41. Exeter, The Society, 2007. 294p. Abstract: Contains all the 122 Cornish wills known to exist up to the year 1540. All the wills are presented in English in complete, rather than abbreviated form.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall Sharpe, Reginald R., ed. Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall. 2 Vols. London : John C. Francis, 1889-1990.

Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858) Great Britain. National Archives. Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858). Note: Research guide available at http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/wills-or-administrations-before-1858/.
North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588 Clay, John W. North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588. 2v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.116, v.121. Durham: Andrews & Co. 1908. Abstract: Wills proved in the Prerogative court of Canterbury.
Early Northampton Wills: Preserved in the Northamptonshire Record Office Edwards, Dorothy, ed. Early Northampton Wills: preserved in the Northamptonshire Record Office. Northamptonshire Record Society v.42. Northampton, The Society, 2005. 289p. ISBN: 0901275646 Abstract: Contains 145 wills from the period 1462 to 1509. Most are in Latin. Mainly wills of trades-people with a sprinkling of priests and minor gentry. 27 were made by women, mainly wealthy widows.
Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln... Gibbons, Alfred W., ed. Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln, Rutland, Northampton, Huntington, Bedford, Buckingham, Oxford, Leicester, and Hertford, 1280-1547. Lincoln Record Series I. Lincoln, J. Williamson, 1888. 244p. OCLC: 5249382 Abstract: Text in English.
Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Cornish Wills, 1342-1540 Orme, Nicholas, ed. Cornish Wills, 1342-1540. Devon and Cornwall Record Society, n.s. v.41. Exeter, The Society, 2007. 294p. Abstract: Contains all the 122 Cornish wills known to exist up to the year 1540. All the wills are presented in English in complete, rather than abbreviated form.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall Sharpe, Reginald R., ed. Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall. 2 Vols. London : John C. Francis, 1889-1990.

Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858) Great Britain. National Archives. Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858). Note: Research guide available at http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/wills-or-administrations-before-1858/.
North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588 Clay, John W. North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588. 2v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.116, v.121. Durham: Andrews & Co. 1908. Abstract: Wills proved in the Prerogative court of Canterbury.
Early Northampton Wills: Preserved in the Northamptonshire Record Office Edwards, Dorothy, ed. Early Northampton Wills: preserved in the Northamptonshire Record Office. Northamptonshire Record Society v.42. Northampton, The Society, 2005. 289p. ISBN: 0901275646 Abstract: Contains 145 wills from the period 1462 to 1509. Most are in Latin. Mainly wills of trades-people with a sprinkling of priests and minor gentry. 27 were made by women, mainly wealthy widows.
Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln... Gibbons, Alfred W., ed. Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln, Rutland, Northampton, Huntington, Bedford, Buckingham, Oxford, Leicester, and Hertford, 1280-1547. Lincoln Record Series I. Lincoln, J. Williamson, 1888. 244p. OCLC: 5249382 Abstract: Text in English.
Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Cornish Wills, 1342-1540 Orme, Nicholas, ed. Cornish Wills, 1342-1540. Devon and Cornwall Record Society, n.s. v.41. Exeter, The Society, 2007. 294p. Abstract: Contains all the 122 Cornish wills known to exist up to the year 1540. All the wills are presented in English in complete, rather than abbreviated form.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall Sharpe, Reginald R., ed. Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall. 2 Vols. London : John C. Francis, 1889-1990.

Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858) Great Britain. National Archives. Prerogative Court of Canterbury and related Probate Jurisdictions: Will Registers (1384-1858). Note: Research guide available at http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/wills-or-administrations-before-1858/.
North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588 Clay, John W. North Country Wills: being abstracts of wills relating to the Counties of York, Nottingham, Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmorland, at Somerset House and Lambeth Palace, 1383 to 1588. 2v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.116, v.121. Durham: Andrews & Co. 1908. Abstract: Wills proved in the Prerogative court of Canterbury.
Early Northampton Wills: Preserved in the Northamptonshire Record Office Edwards, Dorothy, ed. Early Northampton Wills: preserved in the Northamptonshire Record Office. Northamptonshire Record Society v.42. Northampton, The Society, 2005. 289p. ISBN: 0901275646 Abstract: Contains 145 wills from the period 1462 to 1509. Most are in Latin. Mainly wills of trades-people with a sprinkling of priests and minor gentry. 27 were made by women, mainly wealthy widows.
Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln... Gibbons, Alfred W., ed. Early Lincoln Wills: an Abstract of All the Wills and Administrations Recorded in the Episcopal Registers of the Old Diocese of Lincoln, Comprising the Counties of Lincoln, Rutland, Northampton, Huntington, Bedford, Buckingham, Oxford, Leicester, and Hertford, 1280-1547. Lincoln Record Series I. Lincoln, J. Williamson, 1888. 244p. OCLC: 5249382 Abstract: Text in English.
Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth Nicolas, Nicholas H., ed. Testamenta Vetusta: Being Illustrations From Wills, of Manners, Customs, &c. As Well As of the Descents and Possessions of Many Distinguished Families. From the Reign of Henry the Second to the Accession of Queen Elizabeth. 2 Vols. London: Nichols & son, 1826. Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database)
A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. Nichols, John, ed. A Collection of All the Wills, Now Known to Be Extant, of the Kings and Queens of England, Princes and Princesses of Wales, and Every Branch of the Blood Royal : From the Reign of William the Conqueror to That of Henry the Seventh Exclusive. London: J. Nichols, 1780. Abstract: Reprinted by the Lawbook Exchange (Union, NJ) in 1999.
Cornish Wills, 1342-1540 Orme, Nicholas, ed. Cornish Wills, 1342-1540. Devon and Cornwall Record Society, n.s. v.41. Exeter, The Society, 2007. 294p. Abstract: Contains all the 122 Cornish wills known to exist up to the year 1540. All the wills are presented in English in complete, rather than abbreviated form.
Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards Raine, James, William Greenwell, and Herbert M. Wood, eds. Wills and Inventories Illustrative of the History, Manners, Language, Statistics, etc. of the Northern Counties of England from the Eleventh Century Downwards. 4 v. Publications of the Surtees Society, v.2, 38, 112 & 142. London, J.B. Nichols and Son, 1835-1929. OCLC: 277439358 Abstract: Chiefly from the registry at Durham.
Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall Sharpe, Reginald R., ed. Calendar of Wills Proved and Enrolled in the Court of Husting, London, A.D.1258 - A.D.1688: Preserved Among the Archives of the Corporation of the City of London, at the Guildhall. 2 Vols. London : John C. Francis, 1889-1990.