English Constitutional DocumentsEnglish Constitutional Documents. Translations and Reprints from the Original Sources of European History, 1, no. 6; 2, nos. 1, 5; 3, nos. 2, 5; 4, nos. 3, 4. Philadelphia, Pa.: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1894.
Abstract: Partial contents: vol. 2, no. 1, English towns and gilds; vol. 2, no. 5, England in the time of Wycliffe; vol. 3, no. 2. Statistical documents of middle ages; vol. 3, no. 5, English manorial documents
Select Documents of English Constitutional HistoryAdams, George B., and H. Morse Stephens, eds. Select Documents of English Constitutional History . New York ; London: Macmillan, 1901.
Notes: Also available online in MOML (subscription database) Abstract: Earliest document dated AD 1080.
Sources of English Legal History: Private Law to 1750.Baker, John H., and S. F. C. Milsom, comp. Sources of English Legal History: Private Law to 1750. London: Butterworth, 1986.
Abstract: Text in English. A collection of cases from the year books and statutes from Statutes of the Realm, beginning with the year 1225, chosen to illustrate the development of various areas of the common law such as tenure, covenant, trespass.
The King's Council in England During the Middle AgesBaldwin, James F. The King's Council in England During the Middle Ages. Oxford: Clarendon, 1913.
Abstract: Appendixes include acts and articles of the council from Edward I to Edward III in Law French or Latin, proceedings of the council for 15-16 Richard II in Law French, and a selection of cases from Richard II to Henry VI (1383-1453).
Registrum Malmesburiense: The Register of Malmesbury Abbey; Preserved in the Public Record OfficeBrewer, J. S., ed. Registrum Malmesburiense: The Register of Malmesbury Abbey; Preserved in the Public Record Office 2 Vols. Rerum Britannnicarum medii aevi scriptores (Rolls Series), 72. London: Longman, 1879-1880.
Abstract: Begins with public documents: Magna Carta, the Forest Charter, and statutes of the 13th century. Also includes charters from AD 685 to the end of the 13th century.
Select Documents of English Constitutional History, 1307-1485Chrimes, Stanley B., and Alfred L. Brown, eds. Select Documents of English Constitutional History, 1307-1485 . London: A. & C. Black , 1961.
Abstract: Text in English. Mainly drawn from the Parliament and Statute Rolls and chiefly illustrative of the history of council and parliament.
English Historical DocumentsDouglas, David C., Dorothy Whitelock, George W. Greenaway, Harry Rothwell, A. R. Myers, and C. H. Williams, eds. English Historical Documents 10 Vols. in 11. New York: Oxford University Press, 1953-1977.
Abstract: Reprinted by Routledge, 1996. This major series contains a wide selection of the fundamental sources of English history.
Sources of English Legal and Constitutional HistoryEvans, Michael, and R. Ian Jack, eds. Sources of English Legal and Constitutional History. Sydney: Butterworths, 1984.
Abstract: A collection of primary materials in English legal history intended for student use.
History and Sources of the Common Law: Tort and ContractFifoot, Cecil H. S., ed. History and Sources of the Common Law: Tort and Contract. London : Stevens, 1949.
Abstract: A selection from printed sources of the common law including Glanvill and Bracton , with special emphasis on the year books as they have been published in the Rolls Series, in the volumes of the Selden Society and of the Ames Foundation.
Cartularium Monasterii De RameseiaHart, William H., Ponsonby A. Lyons, and Richard E. G. Kirk, eds. Cartularium Monasterii De Rameseia. 3 Vols. Rerum Britannicarum Medii Aevi Scriptores (Rolls Series), 79. London: Longman, 1884-1893.
Abstract: Text in Latin. Contains charters, inquisitions, manorial extants, final accords, pleas in royal courts etc., AD 974-1436.
Select Historical Documents of the Middle AgesHenderson, Ernest F., ed. Select Historical Documents of the Middle Ages. London: George Bell, 1896.
Abstract: Book I of this volume contains translations of some of the major documents from England.
Medieval Legal Records: Edited in Memory of C. A. F. MeekingsHunnisett, R. F., J. B. Post, and Cecil A. F. Meekings, eds. Medieval Legal Records: Edited in Memory of C. A. F. Meekings. London: HMSO, 1978.
Abstract: A collection of short legal records from the early thirteenth century to the late fifteenth century, most found in the PRO. Introductions and commentaries in English; texts in Latin and Middle English.
The Victoria History of the Counties of EnglandInstitute of Historical Research. The National Centre for History. The Victoria History of the Counties of England. London: Oxford University Press, 1900-.
Notes: Also available online at https://www.victoriacountyhistory.ac.uk/
Abstract: A unique, comprehensive, and authoritative work of English local history, the multiple volumes in this ongoing project contain valuable information on county primary sources.
A Source Book of English Law.Kiralfy, Albert K. R., ed. A Source Book of English Law. London: Sweet & Maxwell, 1957.
Abstract: A collection of primary materials intended as a companion to Potter's Historical Introduction to English Law, and follows its arrangement and subject matter. Includes leading cases from both common law and non-common law courts, as well as itinerant courts (eyre and assizes), and non-royal courts (ecclesiastical and borough).
English Constitutional Documents, 1307-1485Lodge, Eleanor C., and Gladys A. Thornton , eds. English Constitutional Documents, 1307-1485. Cambridge: University Press, 1935.
Abstract: Documents in the original Latin or Norman French are arranged chronologically within broad categories, with each section headed by a brief introduction. Intended as a continuation of primary documents for the period immediately following that covered by Stubbs Select Charters.
Publications of the Pipe Roll SocietyPipe Roll Society, London. Publications of the Pipe Roll Society. v. London: The Society, 1938-.
Abstract: Introductory materials in English. The first series reprinted the Great Rolls of the Exchequer, from 1158-1188.
Statutes and Their Interpretation in the First Half of the Fourteenth CenturyPlucknett, Theodore F. T. Statutes and Their Interpretation in the First Half of the Fourteenth Century. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1922.
Notes: Also available online in MOML (subscription database)
Abstract: Appendix I contains the text, with translation of select statutes; Appendix II contains select cases from the year books of Edward I, II, and III.
Munimenta Gildhallae Londoniensis; Liber Albus, Liber Custumarum, Et Liber HornRiley, Henry T., and John Carpenter, eds. Munimenta Gildhallae Londoniensis; Liber Albus, Liber Custumarum, Et Liber Horn. 3 Vols. in 4. Rerum Britannicarum Medii Aevi Scriptores (Rolls Series), 12. London: Longman, Brown, Green, Longmans, and Roberts, 1859-1960.
Abstract: Contains documents illustrating the legal, social and constitutional history of London during the 13th and 14th centuries.
Records of the Social and Economic History of England and WalesVinogradov, Pavel G., G. J. Turner , H. E. Salter, A. Ballard, and F. M. Stenton, eds. Records of the Social and Economic History of England and Wales. 5 Vols. London: British Academy, 1914-1924.
Abstract: Contents: Vol. I, Survey of the Honour of Denbign; Vols. II & III, The register of St. Augustine's Abbey Canterbury; Vol. IV, Terrier of Fleet Lincolnshire; 11th-century inquisition of St. Augustine's, Canterbury; Vol. V, Documents from Danelaw.
Collections for a History of StaffordshireWrottesley, George, and William Salt Archaeological Society, ed. Collections for a History of Staffordshire. William Salt Archaeological Society, 3, 4, 5 pt.1, 6 pt.1, 7, 9 - 17; n.s., 3, 4, 6. London: Harrison and Sons, 1882-1996.
Notes: Also available online in British History Online: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/subject.aspx?subject=5&gid=30 Abstract: Published as part of the Victoria History of the Counties of England Project.