LibGuides: English Medieval Legal Documents Database: Court Records

Court Records

Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Thompson, A. Hamilton, and Hodgson John, eds. Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Newcastle upon Tyne Records Committee Publications, II for the year 1921 ed. Newcastle upon Tyne: Northumberland Press, 1922. OCLC: 6765405

Select Civil Pleas. v.1 1200-1203 Baildon, W. Paley, ed. Select Civil Pleas. v.1 1200-1203. SS, 3 for 1889 ed. London: Quaritch, 1890. OCLC: 1909773 Abstract: Consists of excerpts from the plea rolls of John. "The cases consist of actions tried in the Bench (later the Court of Common Pleas), or at the eyres, mostly concerning land. The petty assizes are well represented."
Somersetshire Pleas (Civil and Criminal), From the Rolls of the Itinerant Justices Chadwyck-Healey, Sir Charles E. H., and Lionel Landon, eds. Somersetshire Pleas (Civil and Criminal), From the Rolls of the Itinerant Justices. 4 Vols. Somerset Record Society Publications, 11, 36, 41, & 44. London: The Society, 1897-1929. Abstract: English translation. Includes two great rolls of lesser assize taken before Bracton.
Three Yorkshire Assize Rolls for the Reigns of King John and King Henry III Clay, Charles T, ed and trans. Three Yorkshire Assize Rolls for the Reigns of King John and King Henry III. Yorkshire Archeological Society. Record Series, 44 for 1910. Leeds: The Society, 1911. Abstract: English translation. The earliest roll is dated 1202. Includes the civil pleas of the closing session of the 1251-52 Yorkshire eyre. Notable as exemplifying how trial by jury had become part of English law.
The Earliest Lincolnshire Assize Rolls, A.D. 1202-1209 Stenton, Doris M. P., ed. The Earliest Lincolnshire Assize Rolls, A.D. 1202-1209. Lincoln Record Society Publications, 22. Lincoln: The Society, 1926. Abstract: Latin text and English abstracts. Contains civil and crown pleas and also the roll of the limited sessions held for assizes, indictments, appeals and vintners' amercements in 1206, 235-77.
The Earliest Northamptonshire Assize Rolls, A.D. 1202 and 1203 Stenton, Doris M. P., ed. The Earliest Northamptonshire Assize Rolls, A.D. 1202 and 1203. Northamptonshire Record Society Publications, 5. London: J.W. Ruddock, 1930. Abstract: Text in Latin with some English translation. Contains essoins, civil and crown pleas of the 1202 Northamptonshire eyre. Also contains a roll of sessions for assizes and appeals taken in the long vacation of 1203 in Northamptonshire and Suffolk, 99-163.
Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Thompson, A. Hamilton, and Hodgson John, eds. Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Newcastle upon Tyne Records Committee Publications, II for the year 1921 ed. Newcastle upon Tyne: Northumberland Press, 1922. OCLC: 6765405

Somersetshire Pleas (Civil and Criminal), From the Rolls of the Itinerant Justices Chadwyck-Healey, Sir Charles E. H., and Lionel Landon, eds. Somersetshire Pleas (Civil and Criminal), From the Rolls of the Itinerant Justices. 4 Vols. Somerset Record Society Publications, 11, 36, 41, & 44. London: The Society, 1897-1929. Abstract: English translation. Includes two great rolls of lesser assize taken before Bracton.
Three Yorkshire Assize Rolls for the Reigns of King John and King Henry III Clay, Charles T, ed and trans. Three Yorkshire Assize Rolls for the Reigns of King John and King Henry III. Yorkshire Archeological Society. Record Series, 44 for 1910. Leeds: The Society, 1911. Abstract: English translation. The earliest roll is dated 1202. Includes the civil pleas of the closing session of the 1251-52 Yorkshire eyre. Notable as exemplifying how trial by jury had become part of English law.
Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Thompson, A. Hamilton, and Hodgson John, eds. Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Newcastle upon Tyne Records Committee Publications, II for the year 1921 ed. Newcastle upon Tyne: Northumberland Press, 1922. OCLC: 6765405

Somersetshire Pleas (Civil and Criminal), From the Rolls of the Itinerant Justices Chadwyck-Healey, Sir Charles E. H., and Lionel Landon, eds. Somersetshire Pleas (Civil and Criminal), From the Rolls of the Itinerant Justices. 4 Vols. Somerset Record Society Publications, 11, 36, 41, & 44. London: The Society, 1897-1929. Abstract: English translation. Includes two great rolls of lesser assize taken before Bracton.
Three Early Assize Rolls for the County of Northumberland, Saec. XIII Page, William, ed. Three Early Assize Rolls for the County of Northumberland, Saec. XIII. Publications of the Surtees Society, 88. Durham: Andrews and Co. for the Society, 1891. Abstract: Text in Latin. Contains civil and crown pleas and kalendar of the 1256 eyre (40 Henry III (1256)), 1-133; civil pleas and attorneys for the 1269 eyre (53 Henry III (1269)), and the civil and crown pleas, crown pleas amercements and kalendar of the 1279 eyre (7 Edward I (1279)).
Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Thompson, A. Hamilton, and Hodgson John, eds. Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Newcastle upon Tyne Records Committee Publications, II for the year 1921 ed. Newcastle upon Tyne: Northumberland Press, 1922. OCLC: 6765405
A Lincolnshire Assize Roll for 1298 (P.R.O. Assize Roll No. 505) Edited With an Introduction on Royal Local Government in Lincolnshire During the War of 1294-8 Thomson, Walter S., ed. A Lincolnshire Assize Roll for 1298 (P.R.O. Assize Roll No. 505) Edited With an Introduction on Royal Local Government in Lincolnshire During the War of 1294-8 . Lincoln Record Society Publications, 36. Hereford: Printed for the Lincoln Record Society by the Hereford Times, 1944.
Collections for a History of Staffordshire Wrottesley, George, and William Salt Archaeological Society, ed. Collections for a History of Staffordshire. William Salt Archaeological Society, 3, 4, 5 pt.1, 6 pt.1, 7, 9 - 17; n.s., 3, 4, 6. London: Harrison and Sons, 1882-1996. Notes: Also available online in British History Online: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/subject.aspx?subject=5&gid=30 Abstract: Published as part of the Victoria History of the Counties of England Project.

Somersetshire Pleas (Civil and Criminal), From the Rolls of the Itinerant Justices Chadwyck-Healey, Sir Charles E. H., and Lionel Landon, eds. Somersetshire Pleas (Civil and Criminal), From the Rolls of the Itinerant Justices. 4 Vols. Somerset Record Society Publications, 11, 36, 41, & 44. London: The Society, 1897-1929. Abstract: English translation. Includes two great rolls of lesser assize taken before Bracton.
Crime in East Anglia in the Fourteenth Century: Norfolk Gaol Delivery Rolls, 1307-1316 Hanawalt, Barbara, ed. Crime in East Anglia in the Fourteenth Century: Norfolk Gaol Delivery Rolls, 1307-1316. Norfolk Record Society Publications, 44. Norwich: Norfolk Record Society, 1976. Abstract: Gaol delivery and assize rolls.

Miscellanea, Comprising, I. Two Thirteenth-Century Assize Rolls for the County of Durham. II. North Country Deeds. III. Documents Relating to Visitations of the Province of York, 1407, 1423 Bayley, K. C., Alexander H. Thompson , and William Brown, eds. Miscellanea, Comprising, I. Two Thirteenth-Century Assize Rolls for the County of Durham. II. North Country Deeds. III. Documents Relating to Visitations of the Province of York, 1407, 1423. 2 Vols. Publications of the Surtees Society, 95, 127. Durham: George Andrews, 1916.