LibGuides: English Medieval Legal Documents Database: Research Guides

Research Guides

The Chief Sources of English Legal History Winfield, Percy H. The Chief Sources of English Legal History. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1925.
Curia Regis & Assize Rolls for the Reigns of Richard I and John: a Handlist and Finding Aid Freeman, Peter. Curia Regis & Assize Rolls for the Reigns of Richard I and John: a Handlist and Finding Aid. Rev. ed. Leeds: s.n., 2001. Abstract: A bibliography of curia regis rolls, including eyre rolls, and the sources in which they have been published, primarily the Curia Regis Rolls series and publications of the Pipe Roll Society and the Selden Society. Includes an appendix on the "Coram Rege" numbering system.
A Description of the Close Rolls in the Tower of London With an Account of the Early Courts of Law and Equity Hardy, Thomas D. A Description of the Close Rolls in the Tower of London With an Account of the Early Courts of Law and Equity, and Various Historical Illustrations. London: n.p., 1833. Notes: Also available online in MOML (subscription database) Abstract: Written by an accepted authority on the origin of English equity.
English Court Hand A.D. 1066 to 1500, Illustrated Chiefly From the Public Records Johnson, Charles, and Hilary Jenkinson. English Court Hand A.D. 1066 to 1500, Illustrated Chiefly From the Public Records . Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1915. Abstract: A guide to the cursive script of the English royal administration. Reprinted in 1968.
General Guide to the Society's Publications: A Detailed and Indexed Summary of the Contents of the Introductions Volumes Kiralfy, Albert K. R., and Gareth H. Jones, comp. General Guide to the Society's Publications: A Detailed and Indexed Summary of the Contents of the Introductions Volumes 1-79. Selden Society, London: Publications ed. London: Bernard Quaritch, 1960. Abstract: Summaries of information from the introductions to volumes of the Selden Society Publications through v. 79, for 1961, with a detailed index to the summaries.
A Guide to English Historical Records Macfarlane, Alan. A Guide to English Historical Records. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1983. Abstract: Chapter 3: Records of State including law courts; Chapter 5: Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction
Guide to Law Reports and Statutes Sweet and Maxwell's Guide to Law Reports and Statutes. 4th ed. London: Sweet & Maxwell, 1962.
Guide to the Contents of the Public Record Office Great Britain. Public Record Office. Guide to the Contents of the Public Record Office. 3 Vols. London: HMSO, 1963-1968. Abstract: Guide to the manuscripts preserved in the PRO . vol. 1, Legal records, etc.; vol. 2, State papers and departmental records; vol. 3, Documents transferred 1960-1966.
Handbook of Dates for Students of English History Cheney, Christopher R. Handbook of Dates for Students of English History. Cambridge University Press, 1996.
How to Locate and Use Manorial Records Palgrave-Moore, Patrick T. R. How to Locate and Use Manorial Records . Norwich, Norfolk: Elvery Dowers, 1985.
Introduction to the Curia Regis Rolls, 1199-1230. Flower, Cyril T. Introduction to the Curia Regis Rolls, 1199-1230. SS, 62 for 1943. London: Quaritch, 1943. Abstract: "Consists of an analytical introduction to the series of printed Curia Regis Rolls of the reigns of Richard I, John, and part of Henry III. The remainder is a summary and index to the contents of these numerous volumes of rolls." Gives numerous illustrations of the various types of actions heard in the royal courts, drawn from the Curia Regis rolls.
Introduction to the Study of the Pipe Rolls Hall, Hubert. Introduction to the Study of the Pipe Rolls. The Publications of the Pipe Roll Society, 3. London: Wyman, 1884.
An Introduction to the Use of the Public Records Galbraith, Vivian H. An Introduction to the Use of the Public Records. London: Oxford University Press, 1934. Abstract: Based on five lectures given to graduate students who were beginning original research.
Liber Memorialis: Doris Mary Stenton, Honorary Secretary to the Pipe Roll Society, 1923-1961 Stenton, Doris M. P., C. F. Slade, and Margaret S. R. Walker, comps. Liber Memorialis: Doris Mary Stenton, Honorary Secretary to the Pipe Roll Society, 1923-1961. Publications of the Pipe Roll Society, 79; n.s., 41. London : Pipe Roll Society, 1976. Abstract: Indexes the introductions to the Society's publications of the pipe rolls and other financial records
Manual of Law French Baker, John H. Manual of Law French. 2nd ed. Aldershot, Hants: Scolar Press, 1990
A Manual of Year Book Studies Bolland, William C. A Manual of Year Book Studies . Cambridge Studies in English Legal History. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1925. Abstract: Based on lectures delivered at Cambridge University. An introduction to the subject of the MSS. and printed editions of the year books. An appendix provides 11 facsimiles of selected pages from year book manuscripts of various dates written in various scripts, with transcripts and English translations from the law French.
The Record Interpreter: a Collection of Abbreviations, Latin Words and Names Used in English Historical Manuscripts and Records Martin, Charles T. The Record Interpreter: a Collection of Abbreviations, Latin Words and Names Used in English Historical Manuscripts and Records. 2nd ed. London: Stevens and Sons, 1910.
Records of the General Eyre Crook, David. Records of the General Eyre. Public Record Office Handbooks Number 20. London: Her Majesty's Stationery Office, 1982. Abstract: A convenient guide to the eyre records, this handbook is based largely on the work of C. A. F. Meekings. Gives a brief description of each eyre, followed by a listing of the manuscript records for each including the plea rolls, feet of fines, writs, and coroners rolls. Describes the preservation of the plea rolls, 12-30.
The Records of the Medieval Ecclesiastical Courts: Part II England Donahue, Charles, ed. The Records of the Medieval Ecclesiastical Courts: Part II England. Comparative Studies in Continental and Anglo-American Legal History ed. Berlin: Dunker & Humblot, 1994-. Abstract: Reports of the Working Group on Church Court Records, this provides a comprehensive analytical guide to the surviving records of proceedings in English church courts up to the mid-sixteenth century.
The Sources of the Law of England: an Historical Introduction to the Study of English Law Brunner, Heinrich. The Sources of the Law of England: an Historical Introduction to the Study of English Law. Edinburgh: T. & T. Clark, 1888.
Studies in the Public Records Galbraith, Vivian. Studies in the Public Records . University of Oxford. Ford lectures, 1941. London, New York : T. Nelson , 1948.
Texts and Calendars : an Analytical Guide to Serial Publications Mullins, Edward L. C. Texts and Calendars : an Analytical Guide to Serial Publications. 2 Vols. Royal Historical Society, 7, 12. London: Royal Historical Society, 1958-1983. Abstract: An excellent resource for serial publications, whether they are government publications, such as the P.R.O , specialist societies such as the Selden Society, or volumes of local record and historical societies.