LibGuides: English Medieval Legal Documents Database: Legal History

Legal History

Anglo-Saxon Charters and the Historian Harmer, Florence E. Anglo-Saxon Charters and the Historian . Manchester: Manchester University Press, 1938. OCLC: 13389298
The Beginnings of English Law Oliver, Lisi, ed. The Beginnings of English Law. Toronto Medieval Texts and Translations, 14. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2002. Abstract: Includes the text and translations of the laws of Aethelberht, Hlophere & Eadric, and Wihtred. Includes a list of previous editions and translations of the Kentish Laws.
The Birth of the English Common Law Van Caenegem, Raoul C. The Birth of the English Common Law. 2nd ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1988. ISBN: 0521356822
The Canon Law and Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction From 597 to the 1640s Helmholz, R. H. The Canon Law and Ecclesiastical Jurisdiction From 597 to the 1640s . Oxford history of the laws of England, 1. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004. ISBN: 0198258976
The Common Law Tradition; Lawyers, Books and the Law Baker, John H. The Common Law Tradition; Lawyers, Books and the Law. London: Hambledon Press, 2000. ISBN: 1852851813
A Concise History of the Common Law Plucknett, Theodore F. T. A Concise History of the Common Law. 5th ed. Boston: Little, Brown and Company, 1956. OCLC: 933912
A Constitutional and Legal History of Medieval England Lyon, Bryce D. A Constitutional and Legal History of Medieval England. 2nd ed. New York: Norton, 1980. ISBN: 0393951324
The Constitutional History of England, a Course of Lectures Maitland, Frederic W., and Herbert A. L. The Constitutional History of England, a Course of Lectures. London: Cambridge University Press, 1908. OCLC: 492651 Abstract: Reprinted in 1963.
The Constitutional History of England in Its Origin and Development Stubbs, William, and James Cornford. The Constitutional History of England in Its Origin and Development. 3 Vols. New York: Barnes and Noble, 1897. OCLC: 38560614 Abstract: Abridged version published by University of Chicago Press in 1979.
The Constitutional History of Medieval England: 1216-1399, With Select Documents Wilkinson, Bertie, ed. The Constitutional History of Medieval England: 1216-1399, With Select Documents. 3 Vols. London: Longmans, Green, 1948-1958. OCLC: 1862005 Abstract: A compilation, grouped by topic and with extensive interpretative commentary, of the main documents of importance for the study of medieval constitutional history. English translation.
The Constitutional History of Medieval England: From the English Settlement to 1485 Jolliffe, John E. A. The Constitutional History of Medieval England: From the English Settlement to 1485 . 4th ed. London: A. and C. Black, 1961-. OCLC: 1140656
The County Courts of Medieval England, 1150-1350 Palmer, Robert C. The County Courts of Medieval England, 1150-1350. Princeton, N.J: Princeton University Press, 1982. ISBN: 0691053413 Notes: Also available online as an ACLS Humanities E-book, University of Michigan Library (subscription database)
Domesday Book and the Law Society and Legal Custom in Early Medieval England Fleming, Robin. Domesday Book and the Law Society and Legal Custom in Early Medieval England. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1998. ISBN: 052163038X
The Early English County Court. An Historical Treatise With Illustrative Documents Morris, William A. The Early English County Court. An Historical Treatise With Illustrative Documents. Berkeley, CA.: University of California Press, 1926. OCLC: 2487358
English Constitutional History Chrimes, Stanley B. English Constitutional History. 4th ed. London: Oxford University Press, 1967. OCLC: 29971
The English Judiciary in the Age of Glanvill and Bracton, C.1176-1239 Turner, Ralph V. The English Judiciary in the Age of Glanvill and Bracton, C.1176-1239. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1985. ISBN: 052126510X Abstract: A study of the evolution of a professional judiciary in medieval England through the careers of forty-nine royal justices from the last decade of Henry II until 1239. Appendix lists the Royal Justices from ca. 1176-1239
English Law in the Age of the Black Death, 1348-1381: a Transformation of Governance and Law Palmer, Robert C. English Law in the Age of the Black Death, 1348-1381. Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina, 1993. ISBN: 0807820997 Abstract: Includes extensive appendixes of primary sources in English translation.
The English Legal Tradition: Its Sources and History Levy-Ullmann, Henri. The English Legal Tradition: Its Sources and History. London: Macmillan, 1935. OCLC: 2481282 Abstract: Translated from the French by M. Mitchell, with a foreword by W. S. Holdsworth.
Essays in Anglo-Saxon Law Adams, Henry, Henry Cabot Lodge, Ernest Young, and J. Laurence Laughlin. Essays in Anglo-Saxon Law. Boston: Little, Brown, 1876. OCLC: 1356897 Notes: Also available online in MOML (subscription database) Abstract: Appendix contains 35 select cases in Anglo-Saxon law. Text in Latin and Old English with English summaries.
The Evolution of English Justice: Law, Politics and Society in the Fourteenth Century Musson, Anthony, and W. M. Ormrod . The Evolution of English Justice: Law, Politics and Society in the Fourteenth Century. London: Macmillan, 1998. ISBN: 0333676718
The General Eyre Bolland, William C. The General Eyre. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1922. OCLC: 3410671 Notes: Also available online in MOML (subscription database) Abstract: A series of lectures delivered in the University of London discussing the work of the justices in the late 13th and early 14th centuries.
The High Court of Chivalry; a Study of the Civil Law in England Squibb, George D. The High Court of Chivalry; a Study of the Civil Law in England. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1959. OCLC: 408398
Historical Foundations of the Common Law Milsom, Stroud F. C. Historical Foundations of the Common Law. 2nd ed. London: Butterworths, 1981. ISBN: 0406625026
A History of English Law Holdsworth, William S. A History of English Law. 17 Vols. London: Methuen, 1902-1972. ISBN: 0421051507 Abstract: Vols. 1-3 discuss the medieval period.
The History of English Law before the Time of Edward I Pollock, Frederick, and Frederic W. Maitland. The History of English Law before the Time of Edward I. 2 Vols. 2nd ed. reissued. Cambridge: University Press, 1923, 1968 Abstract: Vol. 1 provides a general outline of English legal history up to the accession of Edward I. Vol. 2 expounds the doctrines and rules of law which prevailed in the years of Glanville and Bracton, under Henry II, his sons and grandson.
History of Procedure in England From the Norman Conquest Bigelow, Melville M. History of Procedure in England From the Norman Conquest. The Norman Period (1066-1204). Boston: Little, Brown, 1880. OCLC: 4816906 Notes: Also available online in MOML and HeinOnline (subscription databases)
The History of the Common Law of England Hale, Matthew, and Charles M . Gray. The History of the Common Law of England . Classics of British Historical Literature. Chicago: University of Chicago Press , 1971. ISBN: 0226313042 Notes: Also available online in MOML, ECCO, and HeinOnline (subscription databases)
A History of the English Courts Carter, Albert T. A History of the English Courts. 7th ed. London: Butterworth, 1944. OCLC: 155550216 Abstract: Title of earlier editions, A history of English legal institutions.
The Hundred and the Hundred Rolls; an Outline of Local Government in Medieval England Cam, Helen M. The Hundred and the Hundred Rolls; an Outline of Local Government in Medieval England. London: Methuen, 1930. OCLC: 5878822 Abstract: Appendix I contains the Articles of October 11, 1274 authorizing the inquest into the usurpation of royal rights by the magnates, which resulted in the compilation of the Hundred Rolls.
An Introduction to English Legal History John H. Baker. An Introduction to English Legal History . 4th ed. London: Butterworths LexisNexis, 2002. ISBN: 0406930538
An Introduction to the History of the Law of Real Property: With Original Authorities Digby, Kenelm E., and William M. Harrison , eds. An Introduction to the History of the Law of Real Property: With Original Authorities. 5th ed. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1897. OCLC: 84314913 Notes: The 1875, 1884, 1892, and 1897 editions also available online in MOML; the 1875 edition available online in HeinOnline (subscription databases)
Judges, Administrators and the Common Law in Angevin England Turner, Ralph V. Judges, Administrators and the Common Law in Angevin England. London: Hambledon Press, 1994. ISBN: 185285104X
King, Lords, and Peasants in Medieval England : the Common Law of Villeinage in the Twelfth and Thirteenth Centuries Hyams, Paul R. King, Lords, and Peasants in Medieval England : the Common Law of Villeinage in the Twelfth and Thirteenth Centuries. Oxford historical monographs ed. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1980. ISBN: 019821880X
The King and His Courts; the Role of John and Henry III in the Administration of Justice, 1199-1240 Turner, Ralph V. The King and His Courts; the Role of John and Henry III in the Administration of Justice, 1199-1240. Ithica, N.Y.: Cornell University Press, 1968. OCLC: 443607
Kings, Barons and Justices : the Making and Enforcement of Legislation in Thirteenth-Century England Brand, Paul A. Kings, Barons and Justices : the Making and Enforcement of Legislation in Thirteenth-Century England. Cambridge Studies in Medieval Life and Thought. Fourth series, 56. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2003. ISBN: 0521372461
Kingship, Law, and Society: Criminal Justice in the Reign of Henry V Powell, Edward. Kingship, Law, and Society: Criminal Justice in the Reign of Henry V . Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1989. ISBN: 019820082X
Kingship and Law in the Middle Ages Kern, Fritz. Kingship and Law in the Middle Ages. New York: Harper & Row, 1956, 1970. Abstract: Translation by S. B. Chrimes of Kern's Gottesgnadentum und Widerstandsrecht in fruheren Mittelalter. Pt. 1, The divine right of kings and the right of resistance in the early Middle Ages; Pt. 2, Law and constitution in the Middle Ages. OCLC: 1045649
Law-Finders and Law-Makers in Medieval England: Collected Studies in Legal and Constitutional History Cam, Helen M. Law-Finders and Law-Makers in Medieval England: Collected Studies in Legal and Constitutional History. London: Merlin Press, 1962. OCLC: 736424
Law and Legislation From Aethelberht to Magna Carta Richardson, Henry G., and George O. Sayles. Law and Legislation From Aethelberht to Magna Carta. Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 1966. OCLC: 879833 Abstract: Appendix contains the parallel texts from the fourth section of the Leges Willelmi, the Instituta Cnuti, and the Quadripartitus.
Law and Records in Medieval England: Studies on the Medieval Papacy, Monasteries and Records Sayers, Jane E. Law and Records in Medieval England: Studies on the Medieval Papacy, Monasteries and Records . Collected Studies Series, CS278. London: Variorum Reprints, 1988. ISBN: 0860782263
The Law Courts of Medieval England Harding, Alan. The Law Courts of Medieval England. London: Allen & Unwin, 1973. ISBN: 0049421069
Law in Mediaeval Life and Thought King, Edward B., and Susan J. Ridyard. Law in Mediaeval Life and Thought. Sewanee Mediaeval Studies, 5 ed. Sewanee, Tenn.: The Press of the University of the South, 1990. ISBN: 0918769256
The Law of Treason in England in the Later Middle Ages Bellamy, John G. The Law of Treason in England in the Later Middle Ages. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1970. ISBN: 052107830X
The Legal Framework of English Feudalism: the Maitland Lectures Given in 1972 Milsom, Stroud F. C. The Legal Framework of English Feudalism: the Maitland Lectures Given in 1972. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1976. ISBN: 0521209471
Legislation of Edward I: The Ford Lectures Delivered in the University of Oxford in Hilary Term 1947 Plucknett, Theodore F. T. Legislation of Edward I: The Ford Lectures Delivered in the University of Oxford in Hilary Term 1947 . Oxford: Clarendon, 1962. OCLC: 983476 Abstract: Six lectures including an introduction to the nature of legislation in the period, a discussion of feudal justice, the relationship of lords and tenants, land ownership, family law, and commerce.
Magna Carta Holt, James C. Magna Carta. 2nd ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992. ISBN: 0521277787 Abstract: A comprehensive study of the Charter in the context of the politics, administration and political thought of England and Europe in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. Appendixes reproduce the Charter of 1215 and 1225 and related documents.
Magna Carta; a Commentary on the Great Charter of King John McKechnie, William S. Magna Carta; a Commentary on the Great Charter of King John. 2nd ed. Glasgow: J. Maclehose and Sons, 1914. OCLC: 2882098 Notes: Also available online in MOML and HeinOnline (subscription databases)
The Making of English Law: King Alfred to the Twelfth Century Wormald, Patrick. The Making of English Law: King Alfred to the Twelfth Century. Oxford: Blackwell, 1999-. ISBN: 0631134964
The Making of the Common Law Brand, Paul A. The Making of the Common Law. London: Hambledon Press, 1992. ISBN: 1852850701 Abstract: A collection of articles and essays republished from various sources. Most are specifically about the history of the English Common Law focusing on the 13th century.
The Medieval Coroner Hunnisett, R. F. The Medieval Coroner. Cambridge Studies in English Legal History ed. Holmes Beach, Fla.: W.W. Gaunt, 1961. ISBN: 0912004312 Abstract: Reprinted in 1986.
The Medieval English Sheriff to 1300 Morris, William. The Medieval English Sheriff to 1300. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 1927. ISBN: 0719003423 Abstract: Reprinted in 1968.
Medieval Law in Context: the Growth of Legal Consciousness From Magna Carta to the Peasants' Revolt Musson, Anthony. Medieval Law in Context: the Growth of Legal Consciousness From Magna Carta to the Peasants' Revolt. Manchester Medieval Studies. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2001. ISBN: 0719054931
Observing and Recording the Medieval Bar and Bench at Work: the Origins of Law Reporting in England Brand, Paul A. Observing and Recording the Medieval Bar and Bench at Work: the Origins of Law Reporting in England. London: Selden Society, 1999. ISBN: 0854231307 Abstract: Selden Society lecture delivered in the Old Hall of Lincolns Inn, July 6th 1998.
The Oracles of the Law Dawson, John P. The Oracles of the Law. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Law School, 1968. OCLC: 433170 Abstract: Compares the influence of case law in the legal systems of England, Rome, France, and Germany. The first chapters give an overview of the predominant role of judges in the creation and development of English law.
The Origin of the English Constitution Adams, George B. The Origin of the English Constitution. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1912. OCLC: 869063
The Origins of the English Legal Profession Brand. Paul A. The Origins of the English Legal Profession. Oxford: Blackwell, 1992. ISBN: 0631154019
The Oxford History of the Laws of England. John H. Baker, ed. The Oxford History of the Laws of England. v. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003-. v.1: ISBN: 0198258976, v.6: ISBN: 0198258178 Abstract: Vol. 1, by R. H. Helmholz, covers the Canon Law and ecclesiastical jurisdiction from 597 to the 1640's; Vol. 2, (not yet published) will cover 1483-1558; Vol. 6, covers 1483-1558.
Potter's Historical Introduction to English Law and Its Institutions Potter, Harold, and Albert K. R. Kiralfy. Potter's Historical Introduction to English Law and Its Institutions. 4th ed. London: Sweet and Maxwell, 1958. OCLC: 1822942 Abstract: Ties in with Kiralfy, A Sourcebook of English Law.
Private Jurisdiction in England. Ault, Warren O. Private Jurisdiction in England. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1923. OCLC: 22130057 Notes: Also available in MOML (subscription database) Abstract: Discusses manorial courts including courts baron and courts leet.
Public Order and Law Enforcement: the Local Administration of Criminal Justice, 1294-1350 ---. Public Order and Law Enforcement: the Local Administration of Criminal Justice, 1294-1350. Woodbridge, Suffolk: Boydell Press, 1996. ISBN: 0851156355
Quo Warranto Proceedings in the Reign of Edward I Sutherland, Donald W, ed. Quo Warranto Proceedings in the Reign of Edward I, 1278-1294. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1963. OCLC: 408401 Abstract: Appendix I contains select documents; Appendix II contains a list of eyres for 1278-1294
Saxon and Medieval Antecedents of the English Common Law Kynell, Kurt von S. Saxon and Medieval Antecedents of the English Common Law. Studies in British History, 59. Lewiston, N.Y.: E. Mellen Press, 2000. ISBN: 0773478736
The Serjeants of the Peace in Medieval England and Wales Stewart Brown, Ronald D. The Serjeants of the Peace in Medieval England and Wales. University of Manchester Publications. Historical Series, 71. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 1936. OCLC: 4563847
A Sketch of English Legal History Maitland, Frederic W., and Francis C. Montague . A Sketch of English Legal History. New York: Putnam, 1915. OCLC: 22514197 Notes: Also available online in MOML (subscription database)
Statutes and Their Interpretation in the First Half of the Fourteenth Century Plucknett, Theodore F. T. Statutes and Their Interpretation in the First Half of the Fourteenth Century. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1922. Notes: Also available online in MOML (subscription database) Abstract: Appendix I contains the text, with translation of select statutes; Appendix II contains select cases from the year books of Edward I, II, and III.
Studies and Notes Supplementary to Stubbs' Constitutional History Petit-Dutaillis, Charles E. Studies and Notes Supplementary to Stubbs' Constitutional History. 3 Vols. in 2. University of Manchester publications, 38, 91 & 197. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 1908-1929. OCLC: 61641216 Notes: Also available online in MOML (subscription database) Abstract: Translation of: Notes et etudes historiques.
Studies in 13th Century Justice and Administration Meekings, Cecil A. F. Studies in 13th Century Justice and Administration. London: Hambledon Press, 1981. ISBN: 0950688231 Abstract: A collection of Meekings' writings republished from various sources.
Studies in English Legal History Plucknett, Theodore F. T. Studies in English Legal History. London: Hambledon Press, 1983. ISBN: 0907628117 Abstract: Reprints of papers from various law reviews and scholarly journals.
Studies in the History of the Common Law Milsom, Stroud F. C. Studies in the History of the Common Law. London: Hambledon Press, 1985. ISBN: 0907628613
Studies in the Hundred Rolls Some Aspects of the Thirteenth-Century Administration Cam. Helen. M. Studies in the Hundred Rolls Some Aspects of the Thirteenth-Century Administration. Proceedings Against the Crown (1216-1377). Oxford Studies in Social and Legal History, 6. New York: Octagon Books, 1921. ISBN: 0374961654 Notes: Also available online in MOML (subscription database) Abstract: Reviews the articles of the eyre up to the beginning of the reign of Edward I.
Über Die Leges Edwardi Confessoris Liebermann, Felix. Uber Die Leges Edwardi Confessoris. Halle: M. Niemeyer, 1896. OCLC: 60714648 Notes: Also available online in MOML (subscription database) Abstract: Study of Leges Edwardi Confessoris, a twelfth century treatise on the laws of Edward the Confessor, 1042-1066. Probably compiled in the last years of Henry I,
The Year Books: Lectures Delivered in the University of London at the Request of the Faculty of Laws Bolland, William C. The Year Books: Lectures Delivered in the University of London at the Request of the Faculty of Laws. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1921. OCLC: 4030286 Abstract: Three lectures on the history of the production and authorship of the year books.
Zu Den Gesetzen Der Angelsachsen Liebermann, Felix. Zu Den Gesetzen Der Angelsachsen . Weimar: Hof-Buchdruckerei, 1885. OCLC: 81237964 Notes: Available online in MOML (subscription database) Abstract: Text in German.