LibGuides: English Medieval Legal Documents Database: Court Records

Court Records

Cobbett's Complete Collection of State Trials and Proceedings for High Treason and Other Crimes and Misdemeanors From the Earliest Period to the Present Time Cobbett, William, and Thomas B. Howell, ed. Cobbett's Complete Collection of State Trials and Proceedings for High Treason and Other Crimes and Misdemeanors From the Earliest Period to the Present Time. 33 Vols. London: Printed by T.C. Hansard for R. Bagshaw, 1809. OCLC: 122275433 Abstract: Based on earlier editions published in 1719, 1730, 1742, and 1775.
Curia Regis Rolls Great Britain. Curia Regis. Curia Regis Rolls Preserved in the Public Record Office. V. Public Record Office KB.26 ed. London: HMSO, 1922-. OCLC: 5785129 Abstract: Text in Latin. An ongoing publication prepared under the superintendance of the Deputy Keeper of the Records. Various editors include C. T. Flower, Paul Brand, and David Crook. Supplements Palgraves' Rotuli curiae regis, and to date includes pleas of the bench and pleas before the King for the period from 1195-1250.
Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Thompson, A. Hamilton, and Hodgson John, eds. Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Newcastle upon Tyne Records Committee Publications, II for the year 1921 ed. Newcastle upon Tyne: Northumberland Press, 1922. OCLC: 6765405
Rotuli Curiae Regis: Rolls and Records of the Court Held Before the King's Justiciars or Justices (6 Richard I - 1 John) Palgrave, Francis, ed. Rotuli Curiae Regis: Rolls and Records of the Court Held Before the King's Justiciars or Justices (6 Richard I - 1 John). 2 Vols. London: Commissioners on the Public Records, 1835. OCLC: 3381969 Abstract: Transcription of original abbreviated Latin text; introduction and notes in English.
Three Rolls in the King's Court in the Reign of King Richard the First. A.D. 1194-1195. Maitland, Frederic W., ed. Three Rolls in the King's Court in the Reign of King Richard the First. A.D. 1194-1195. 2 Vols. Publications of the Pipe Roll Society, 14 and 24 ed. London: Wyman & Sons, 1891. Abstract: Text in Latin. Contains rolls not printed by Palgrave in Rotuli Curiae Regis.
Year Books of Edward II Publications of the Selden Society Note: Available in MOML

Curia Regis Rolls Preserved in the Public Record Office Great Britain. Curia Regis. Curia Regis Rolls Preserved in the Public Record Office. V. Public Record Office KB.26 ed. London: HMSO, 1922-. OCLC: 5785129 Abstract: Text in Latin. An ongoing publication prepared under the superintendance of the Deputy Keeper of the Records. Various editors include C. T. Flower, Paul Brand, and David Crook. Supplements Palgraves' Rotuli curiae regis, and to date includes pleas of the bench and pleas before the King for the period from 1195-1250.
Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Thompson, A. Hamilton, and Hodgson John, eds. Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Newcastle upon Tyne Records Committee Publications, II for the year 1921 ed. Newcastle upon Tyne: Northumberland Press, 1922. OCLC: 6765405
Pleas Before the King or His Justices Stenton, Doris M. P., ed. Pleas Before the King or His Justices. 4 Vols. SS, 67 for 1948, 68 for 1949, 83 for 1966, 84 for 1967 ed. London: Quaritch, 1952-1967. OCLC: 3394218 Abstract: Latin text and translation. Includes the earliest surviving rolls of pleas heard coram rege as well as some pleas heard de banco and before the itinerant justices,
Rotuli Curiae Regis: Rolls and Records of the Court Held Before the King's Justiciars or Justices (6 Richard I - 1 John) Palgrave, Francis, ed. Rotuli Curiae Regis: Rolls and Records of the Court Held Before the King's Justiciars or Justices (6 Richard I - 1 John). 2 Vols. London: Commissioners on the Public Records, 1835. OCLC: 3381969 Abstract: Transcription of original abbreviated Latin text; introduction and notes in English.
Select Civil Pleas. v.1 1200-1203 Baildon, W. Paley, ed. Select Civil Pleas. v.1 1200-1203. SS, 3 for 1889 ed. London: Quaritch, 1890. OCLC: 1909773 Abstract: Consists of excerpts from the plea rolls of John. "The cases consist of actions tried in the Bench (later the Court of Common Pleas), or at the eyres, mostly concerning land. The petty assizes are well represented."
Select Pleas of the Crown: Volume 1, A.D. 1200-1225 Maitland, Frederic W., ed. Select Pleas of the Crown: Volume 1, A.D. 1200-1225. SS, 1 for 1887 ed. London: Bernard Quaritch, 1888. OCLC: 1909772 Abstract: Contains cases from rolls of 1201-1225, mostly cases of felony.

Curia Regis Rolls Preserved in the Public Record Office Great Britain. Curia Regis. Curia Regis Rolls Preserved in the Public Record Office. V. Public Record Office KB.26 ed. London: HMSO, 1922-. OCLC: 5785129 Abstract: Text in Latin. An ongoing publication prepared under the superintendance of the Deputy Keeper of the Records. Various editors include C. T. Flower, Paul Brand, and David Crook. Supplements Palgraves' Rotuli curiae regis, and to date includes pleas of the bench and pleas before the King for the period from 1195-1250.
Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Thompson, A. Hamilton, and Hodgson John, eds. Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Newcastle upon Tyne Records Committee Publications, II for the year 1921 ed. Newcastle upon Tyne: Northumberland Press, 1922. OCLC: 6765405
Select Cases in the Exchequer of Pleas 1236-1304 Jenkinson, Hilary, and Beryl Fermoy, ed. Select Cases in the Exchequer of Pleas. SS, 48 for 1931. London: Quaritch, 1932. OCLC: 1917933 Abstract: "Reproduces cases from the Plea Rolls of the Court of Exchequer preserved at the PRO and decided in the reigns of Henry III and Edward I. (1236-1304)" Valuable for the student of the administrative history of the Exchequer.
Select Cases of Procedure Without Writ Under Henry III Richardson, Henry G., and George O. Sayles , eds. Select Cases of Procedure Without Writ Under Henry III. SS, 60 for 1941. London: Quaritch, 1941. Abstract: "Extracts selected cases from the Curia Regis Rolls of Henry III and the Assize Rolls of the same reign, to show the use of plaints without writ in the King's Bench and before the Eyres.
Select Pleas, Starrs and Other Records From the Rolls of the Exchequer of the Jews (1220-1284). Rigg, James M., ed. Select Pleas, Starrs and Other Records From the Rolls of the Exchequer of the Jews (1220-1284). SS, 15 for 1901. London: Quaritch, 1901. OCLC: 1917313 Notes: Also available online in MOML (subscription database) Abstract: Selections from the Plea Rolls of the Exchequer of the Jews under Henry III and Edward I.

Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Thompson, A. Hamilton, and Hodgson John, eds. Northumberland Pleas From the Curia Regis and Assize Rolls, 1198-1272. Newcastle upon Tyne Records Committee Publications, II for the year 1921 ed. Newcastle upon Tyne: Northumberland Press, 1922. OCLC: 6765405
Placita Coram Domino Rege Apud Westmonasterium De Termino Sancte Trinitatis Anno Regni Regis Edwardi, Filii Regis Henrici, Vicesimo Quinto; the Pleas of the Court of King's Bench, Trinity Term, 25 Edward I, 1297 Phillimore, William P. W., and Edward A. Fry, eds. Placita Coram Domino Rege Apud Westmonasterium De Termino Sancte Trinitatis Anno Regni Regis Edwardi, Filii Regis Henrici, Vicesimo Quinto; the Pleas of the Court of King's Bench, Trinity Term, 25 Edward I, 1297 . British Record Society Index Library, 19. London: British Record Society, 1898. OCLC: 42943212 Abstract: A transcript from the coram rege roll, Trinity Term, 25 Edward I.
Plea Rolls of the Exchequer of the Jews Preserved in the National Archives (Formerly the Public Record Office). Volume 6, Edward I, 1279-81. Brand, Paul A., ed. Plea Rolls of the Exchequer of the Jews Preserved in the National Archives (Formerly the Public Record Office). Volume 6, Edward I, 1279-81. London: Jewish Historical Society of England, 2005. OCLC: 84150506 Abstract: Text in Latin, with introduction and notes in English. Vol. 6 continues the set, by James Rigg, Calendar of the plea rolls of the Exchequer of the Jews preserved in the Public Record Office (1905-1929).
Plea Rolls of the Exchequer of the Jews Preserved in the Public Record Office. Volume 5, Edward 1, 1277-1279 Cohen, Sarah, Paul Brand, and W. M. Schwab, eds. Plea Rolls of the Exchequer of the Jews Preserved in the Public Record Office. Volume 5, Edward 1, 1277-1279. London: Jewish Historical Society of England, 1992-. OCLC: 38715112 Abstract: Text in Latin. Vol. 5. Edward I, 1277-1279, is a continuation of the four volume set, by James Rigg, Calendar of the plea rolls of the Exchequer of the Jews preserved in the Public Record Office (1905-1929).
Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench Under Edward I Sayles, George O., ed. Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench Under Edward I. 3 Vols. SS, 55 for 1936, 57 for 1938, 58 for 1939 (Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench, Vols. I - III). London: Quaritch, 1936. OCLC: 57331931 Abstract: Selected cases from the original plea rolls of the Court of King's Bench at the PRO. Contents: Vol. I (SS, Vol. 55) AD 1270-1290; Vol. II (SS, Vol. 57) AD 1290-1293; Vol. III (SS, Vol. 58) AD 1294-1307.
Select Cases in the Exchequer of Pleas 1236-1304 Jenkinson, Hilary, and Beryl Fermoy, ed. Select Cases in the Exchequer of Pleas. SS, 48 for 1931. London: Quaritch, 1932. OCLC: 1917933 Abstract: "Reproduces cases from the Plea Rolls of the Court of Exchequer preserved at the PRO and decided in the reigns of Henry III and Edward I. (1236-1304)" Valuable for the student of the administrative history of the Exchequer.
Select Pleas, Starrs and Other Records From the Rolls of the Exchequer of the Jews (1220-1284). Rigg, James M., ed. Select Pleas, Starrs and Other Records From the Rolls of the Exchequer of the Jews (1220-1284). SS, 15 for 1901. London: Quaritch, 1901. OCLC: 1917313 Notes: Also available online in MOML (subscription database) Abstract: Selections from the Plea Rolls of the Exchequer of the Jews under Henry III and Edward I.
State Trials of the Reign of Edward the First, 1289-1293. Tout, Thomas F., and Hilda Johnstone, eds. State Trials of the Reign of Edward the First, 1289-1293. London: Royal Historical Society, 1906. OCLC: 3332783 Abstract: Trials, held before Edward I, of some of his chief justices and officials of trust, accused of extorting money, perverting justice, and using their official positions to serve their private ends, while the King was absent in Gascony in 1289.

Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench Under Edward II Sayles, George O., ed. Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench Under Edward II . SS, 74 for 1955 (Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench, Vol. IV). London: Quaritch, 1955. OCLC: 18580108 Abstract: Reproduces select pleas from the original plea rolls of the Court of Edward II at the PRO. Vol. IV covers the years 1327-1306. Introduction discusses the origin of the court coram rege.
Select Cases of Trespass in the King's Courts, 1307-1399 Arnold, Morris S., ed. Select Cases of Trespass in the King's Courts, 1307-1399. 2 Vols. SS, 100 for 1984 & 103 for 1987. London: Selden Society, 1985. OCLC: 59786008 Abstract: Cases selected from the plea rolls of the King's Bench and Common Pleas.

Public Works in Medieval Law Flower, Cyril T., ed. Public Works in Medieval Law. 2 Vols. SS, 32 for 1915, 40 for 1923. London: Quaritch, 1915. OCLC: 153877385 Abstract: "Consists of cases taken from Ancient Indictments and the coram rege rolls, relating to local public works, especially the maintenance of roads, bridges and sewers during the reigns of Edward III and Richard II. The cases are arranged in alphabetical order of county."
Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench Under Edward III Sayles, George O., ed. Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench Under Edward III. 2 Vols. SS, 76 for 1957, 82 for 1965 (Select Cases in the Court of the King's Bench, Vols. V & VI). London: Quaritch, 1957. OCLC: 57331937 Abstract: Reproduces selected cases from the original plea rolls of the Court of King's Bench at the PRO. Contents: Vol. V. (SS, Vol. 76) AD 1327-1340; Vol.VI. (SS, Vol. 82) AD 1341-1377.
Select Cases of Trespass in the King's Courts, 1307-1399 Arnold, Morris S., ed. Select Cases of Trespass in the King's Courts, 1307-1399. 2 Vols. SS, 100 for 1984 & 103 for 1987. London: Selden Society, 1985. OCLC: 59786008 Abstract: Cases selected from the plea rolls of the King's Bench and Common Pleas.

Public Works in Medieval Law Flower, Cyril T., ed. Public Works in Medieval Law. 2 Vols. SS, 32 for 1915, 40 for 1923. London: Quaritch, 1915. OCLC: 153877385 Abstract: "Consists of cases taken from Ancient Indictments and the coram rege rolls, relating to local public works, especially the maintenance of roads, bridges and sewers during the reigns of Edward III and Richard II. The cases are arranged in alphabetical order of county."
Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench. Richard II, Henry IV, and Henry V (1377 -1422) Sayles, George O., ed. Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench. Richard II, Henry IV, and Henry V (1377 -1422). SS, 88 for 1971 (Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench, vol. VII). London: Quaritch, 1971. OCLC: 18580118 Abstract: Reproduces selected cases from the original plea rolls of the Court of King's Bench at the PRO covering the years 1377-1422.
Select Cases of Trespass in the King's Courts, 1307-1399 Arnold, Morris S., ed. Select Cases of Trespass in the King's Courts, 1307-1399. 2 Vols. SS, 100 for 1984 & 103 for 1987. London: Selden Society, 1985. OCLC: 59786008 Abstract: Cases selected from the plea rolls of the King's Bench and Common Pleas.

Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench. Richard II, Henry IV, and Henry V (1377 -1422) Sayles, George O., ed. Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench. Richard II, Henry IV, and Henry V (1377 -1422). SS, 88 for 1971 (Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench, vol. VII). London: Quaritch, 1971. OCLC: 18580118 Abstract: Reproduces selected cases from the original plea rolls of the Court of King's Bench at the PRO covering the years 1377-1422.

Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench. Richard II, Henry IV, and Henry V (1377 -1422) Sayles, George O., ed. Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench. Richard II, Henry IV, and Henry V (1377 -1422). SS, 88 for 1971 (Select Cases in the Court of King's Bench, vol. VII). London: Quaritch, 1971. OCLC: 18580118 Abstract: Reproduces selected cases from the original plea rolls of the Court of King's Bench at the PRO covering the years 1377-1422.