USC Law Library
699 Exposition Blvd. LAW 202
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0072
Free Online Resources
Ames FoundationAmes Foundation. Ames Foundation Web Page.
Notes: Available online at http://amesfoundation.law.harvard.edu/ (accessed March 19, 2018)
Abstract: Includes a list of their publications and an on-line version of Bracton's De legibus which will be the first in a series of on-line publications in English legal history. It also contains a direct link to Seipp's Index and Paraphrase of All Printed Year Book Reports
Digital ScriptoriumAbstract: Digital Scriptorium (DS) is a growing consortium of American institutions with collections of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts. As an online image repository, the DS website allows users to verify descriptive metadata with visual evidence of the manuscripts described.
The Electronic Sawyer: An Online Catalogue of Anglo-Saxon ChartersAbstract: The ‘Electronic Sawyer’ presents in searchable and browsable form a revised, updated, and expanded version of Peter Sawyer's Anglo-Saxon Charters: an Annotated List and Bibliography, published by the Royal Historical Society in 1968. Its main content derives from Sawyer’s catalogue, with corrections and modifications, and with additional data collected by Dr Susan Kelly, Dr Rebecca Rushforth, and others.
Henry III Fine Rolls ProjectKing's College, London, and National Archives (Great Britain). Henry III Fine Rolls Project. London: King's College, 2005-.
Notes: Available online at http://www.finerollshenry3.org.uk/home.html
Abstract: Aims to publish the Fine Rolls of Henry III from 1216 to 1248 in English calendar format, in both print and electronic form. Taken from series C 60 in the National Archives at Kew. The print version will be published by Boydell and Brewer.
Kemble: The Anglo-Saxon Charters WebsiteBritish Academy - Royal Historical Society. Joint Committee on Anglo-Saxon Charters and Simon D. Keynes. KEMBLE. Cambridge: The Committee, 1997-.
Notes: Available online at http://dk.usertest.mws3.csx.cam.ac.uk/
Abstract: Based on an ongoing project to prepare a new edition of the corpus of Anglo-Saxon charters.
The Selden Society: The Publications of the Selden SocietyAbstract: The Selden Society is the only learned society and publisher devoted entirely to English legal history. This includes the history of the law, the development of legal ideas, the legal profession, the courts and legal institutions, individual judges and lawyers, legal literature and records, the languages of the law, legal portraiture and costume. Their website includes a complete list of their publications, with brief summaries, their supplementary series, lectures and pamhlets.
English Short Title Catalog (1473-1800)Abstract: Contains records for works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing through the end of the eighteenth century, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period from materials processed up to December 1997. Includes the former Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue (ESTC) and the two print short-title catalogues covering 1475-1640 (Pollard & Redgrave) and 1641-1700 (Wing).