LibGuides: English Medieval Legal Documents Database: Individual Periods or Reigns

Collections Covering Individual Periods or Reigns

English and Norse Documents: Relating to the Reign of Ethelred the Unready Ashdown, Margaret, ed. English and Norse Documents: Relating to the Reign of Ethelred the Unready. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1930. Abstract: Original text and translation on opposite pages for documents of the reign of Ethelred II, 979-1016.
Alfred the Great: Asser's Life of King Alfred and Other Contemporary Sources Asser, John, Simon Keynes, and Michael Lapidge, eds. Alfred the Great: Asser's Life of King Alfred and Other Contemporary Sources. Harmondsworth, Middlesex: Penguin Books, 1983. Abstract: Translation of De rebus gestis Aelfredi. A collection of source texts, including some of Alfred's Laws, translated with an introduction and notes by Simon Keynes, and Michael Lapidge.
The Anglo-Saxon Chronicle a Collaborative Edition Dumville, David N., Simon Keynes , and Simon Taylor, eds. The Anglo-Saxon Chronicle a Collaborative Edition. v. Cambridge: Biblio Distribution Services, 1983-. Abstract: Text of chronicle in Anglo-Saxon; explanatory material in English ; editions of Latin texts.
Monumenta Historica Britannica, or, Materials for the History of Britain, From the Earliest Period. Volume I. (Extending to the Norman Conquest) Petrie, Henry, John Sharp, and Thomas D. Hardy , eds. Monumenta Historica Britannica, or, Materials for the History of Britain, From the Earliest Period. Volume I. (Extending to the Norman Conquest) . London: G.E. Eyre & W. Spottiswoode, 1848. Abstract: Only v.1 published. Contains extracts from Greek and Roman writers; works by Gilds, Nennius, Bede and many others.
Facsimiles of Anglo-Saxon Manuscripts Sanders, William B., ed. Facsimiles of Anglo-Saxon Manuscripts. 3 Parts. Southampton: Ordnance Survey Office, 1878-1884. Abstract: 121 plates, some in Latin, some in Anglo-Saxon, with an English translation on the opposite page. Part 1, AD 742-1049 Canterbury; Part 2, AD 681-1068; Part 3, AD 697-1161.
Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First Stubbs, William, and H. W. Carless Davis, eds. Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First. 9th ed. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1921. Notes: Also available online in MOML and HeinOnline (subscription databases) Abstract: Aims to include every constitutional document of importance for the period.
England Before the Conquest: Studies in Primary Sources Presented to Dorothy Whitelock Whitelock, Dorothy, Peter Clemoes, and Kathleen Hughes. England Before the Conquest: Studies in Primary Sources Presented to Dorothy Whitelock. Cambridge : University Press, 1971.

The Norman Conquest of England: Sources and Documents Brown, R. Allen, ed. The Norman Conquest of England: Sources and Documents . Woodbridge, Suffolk: Boydell Press, 1995.
English Justice Between the Norman Conquest and the Great Charter, 1066-1215 Stenton, Doris M. P. English Justice Between the Norman Conquest and the Great Charter, 1066-1215. Memoires of the American Philosophical Society, 60. Philadelphia : American Philosophical Society, 1964. Abstract: Contains an extensive appendix of illustrative material from various primary sources including records from the PRO. Latin with English translation.
Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First Stubbs, William, and H. W. Carless Davis, eds. Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First. 9th ed. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1921. Notes: Also available online in MOML and HeinOnline (subscription databases) Abstract: Aims to include every constitutional document of importance for the period.

English Justice Between the Norman Conquest and the Great Charter, 1066-1215 Stenton, Doris M. P. English Justice Between the Norman Conquest and the Great Charter, 1066-1215. Memoires of the American Philosophical Society, 60. Philadelphia : American Philosophical Society, 1964. Abstract: Contains an extensive appendix of illustrative material from various primary sources including records from the PRO. Latin with English translation.

English Justice Between the Norman Conquest and the Great Charter, 1066-1215 Stenton, Doris M. P. English Justice Between the Norman Conquest and the Great Charter, 1066-1215. Memoires of the American Philosophical Society, 60. Philadelphia : American Philosophical Society, 1964. Abstract: Contains an extensive appendix of illustrative material from various primary sources including records from the PRO. Latin with English translation.
Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First Stubbs, William, and H. W. Carless Davis, eds. Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First. 9th ed. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1921. Notes: Also available online in MOML and HeinOnline (subscription databases) Abstract: Aims to include every constitutional document of importance for the period.

The Memoranda Roll for the Tenth Year of the Reign of King John (1207-1208); Together With the Curia Regis Rolls of Hilary Richard 1 (1196) and Easter 9 Richard 1 (1198), a Roll of Plate Held by Hugh De Neville in 9 John (1207-8)... Brown, R. Allen, ed. The Memoranda Roll for the Tenth Year of the Reign of King John (1207-1208); Together With the Curia Regis Rolls of Hilary Richard 1 (1196) and Easter 9 Richard 1 (1198), a Roll of Plate Held by Hugh De Neville in 9 John (1207-8), and Fragments of the Close Rolls of 16 and 17 John (1215-16). Publications of the Pipe Roll Society, 69; n.s., 31. London: J.W. Ruddock for the Society, 1957.
Chronica Magistri Rogeri De Houedene Hovedene, Rogerus de, and William Stubbs, ed. Chronica Magistri Rogeri De Houedene. 4 Vols. Rerum Britannicarum Medii Aevi Scriptores (Rolls Series), 51, parts 1-4. London: Longman, Green, Longman, and Roberts, 1868-1971. Abstract: Text in Latin. Reprinted in 1964. Roger of Hovedon was a justice itinerant of the forests in 1189. The 4th part contains many public documents.
English Justice Between the Norman Conquest and the Great Charter, 1066-1215 Stenton, Doris M. P. English Justice Between the Norman Conquest and the Great Charter, 1066-1215. Memoires of the American Philosophical Society, 60. Philadelphia : American Philosophical Society, 1964. Abstract: Contains an extensive appendix of illustrative material from various primary sources including records from the PRO. Latin with English translation.
Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First Stubbs, William, and H. W. Carless Davis, eds. Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First. 9th ed. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1921. Notes: Also available online in MOML and HeinOnline (subscription databases) Abstract: Aims to include every constitutional document of importance for the period.

The Memoranda Roll for the Tenth Year of the Reign of King John (1207-1208); Together With the Curia Regis Rolls of Hilary Richard 1 (1196) and Easter 9 Richard 1 (1198), a Roll of Plate Held by Hugh De Neville in 9 John (1207-8)... Brown, R. Allen, ed. The Memoranda Roll for the Tenth Year of the Reign of King John (1207-1208); Together With the Curia Regis Rolls of Hilary Richard 1 (1196) and Easter 9 Richard 1 (1198), a Roll of Plate Held by Hugh De Neville in 9 John (1207-8), and Fragments of the Close Rolls of 16 and 17 John (1215-16). Publications of the Pipe Roll Society, 69; n.s., 31. London: J.W. Ruddock for the Society, 1957.
English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461 Chaplais, Pierre, ed. English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971. Abstract: Contains 27 plates in actual or near actual size of original manuscripts, mostly from the PRO. They include royal writs, patent and close.
Documents Illustrative of English History in the Thirteenth and Fourteenth Centuries : Selected From the Records of the Department of the Queen's Remembrancer of the Exchequer Cole, Henry, ed. Documents Illustrative of English History in the Thirteenth and Fourteenth Centuries : Selected From the Records of the Department of the Queen's Remembrancer of the Exchequer . London: G.E. Eyre and A. Scottiswoode, 1844. Abstract: Transcripts, in Latin. Includes memoranda rolls printed under the direction of the Commissioners of the Public Records.
English Justice Between the Norman Conquest and the Great Charter, 1066-1215 Stenton, Doris M. P. English Justice Between the Norman Conquest and the Great Charter, 1066-1215. Memoires of the American Philosophical Society, 60. Philadelphia : American Philosophical Society, 1964. Abstract: Contains an extensive appendix of illustrative material from various primary sources including records from the PRO. Latin with English translation.
Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First Stubbs, William, and H. W. Carless Davis, eds. Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First. 9th ed. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1921. Notes: Also available online in MOML and HeinOnline (subscription databases) Abstract: Aims to include every constitutional document of importance for the period.

English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461 Chaplais, Pierre, ed. English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971. Abstract: Contains 27 plates in actual or near actual size of original manuscripts, mostly from the PRO. They include royal writs, patent and close.
Documents Illustrative of English History in the Thirteenth and Fourteenth Centuries : Selected From the Records of the Department of the Queen's Remembrancer of the Exchequer Cole, Henry, ed. Documents Illustrative of English History in the Thirteenth and Fourteenth Centuries : Selected From the Records of the Department of the Queen's Remembrancer of the Exchequer . London: G.E. Eyre and A. Scottiswoode, 1844. Abstract: Transcripts, in Latin. Includes memoranda rolls printed under the direction of the Commissioners of the Public Records.
Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First Stubbs, William, and H. W. Carless Davis, eds. Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First. 9th ed. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1921. Notes: Also available online in MOML and HeinOnline (subscription databases) Abstract: Aims to include every constitutional document of importance for the period.
Documents of the Baronial Movement of Reform and Rebellion, 1258-1267 Treharne, Reginald F., and Ivor J. Sanders, eds. Documents of the Baronial Movement of Reform and Rebellion, 1258-1267. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1973. Abstract: Introduction in English; text in Latin or Old French, with parallel English translation.
The Constitutional History of Medieval England: 1216-1399, With Select Documents. Wilkinson, Bertie, ed. The Constitutional History of Medieval England: 1216-1399, With Select Documents. 3 Vols. London: Longmans, Green, 1948-1958. Abstract: A compilation, grouped by topic and with extensive interpretative commentary, of the main documents of importance for the study of medieval constitutional history. English translation.

English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461 Chaplais, Pierre, ed. English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971. Abstract: Contains 27 plates in actual or near actual size of original manuscripts, mostly from the PRO. They include royal writs, patent and close.
Documents Illustrating the Crisis of 1297-98 in England Prestwich, Michael. Documents Illustrating the Crisis of 1297-98 in England . Royal Historical Society. Camden 4th ser., 24 . London : Royal Historical Society, 1980.
Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First Stubbs, William, and H. W. Carless Davis, eds. Select Charters and Other Illustrations of English Constitutional History From the Earliest Times to the Reign of Edward the First. 9th ed. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1921. Notes: Also available online in MOML and HeinOnline (subscription databases) Abstract: Aims to include every constitutional document of importance for the period.
The Constitutional History of Medieval England: 1216-1399, With Select Documents. Wilkinson, Bertie, ed. The Constitutional History of Medieval England: 1216-1399, With Select Documents. 3 Vols. London: Longmans, Green, 1948-1958. Abstract: A compilation, grouped by topic and with extensive interpretative commentary, of the main documents of importance for the study of medieval constitutional history. English translation.

English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461 Chaplais, Pierre, ed. English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971. Abstract: Contains 27 plates in actual or near actual size of original manuscripts, mostly from the PRO. They include royal writs, patent and close.
The Constitutional History of Medieval England: 1216-1399, With Select Documents. Wilkinson, Bertie, ed. The Constitutional History of Medieval England: 1216-1399, With Select Documents. 3 Vols. London: Longmans, Green, 1948-1958. Abstract: A compilation, grouped by topic and with extensive interpretative commentary, of the main documents of importance for the study of medieval constitutional history. English translation.

English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461 Chaplais, Pierre, ed. English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971. Abstract: Contains 27 plates in actual or near actual size of original manuscripts, mostly from the PRO. They include royal writs, patent and close.
The Constitutional History of Medieval England: 1216-1399, With Select Documents. Wilkinson, Bertie, ed. The Constitutional History of Medieval England: 1216-1399, With Select Documents. 3 Vols. London: Longmans, Green, 1948-1958. Abstract: A compilation, grouped by topic and with extensive interpretative commentary, of the main documents of importance for the study of medieval constitutional history. English translation.

English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461 Chaplais, Pierre, ed. English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971. Abstract: Contains 27 plates in actual or near actual size of original manuscripts, mostly from the PRO. They include royal writs, patent and close.
Chronicles of the Revolution, 1397-1400: the Reign of Richard II Given-Wilson, Chris, ed. and trans. Chronicles of the Revolution, 1397-1400: the Reign of Richard II. Manchester Medieval Sources Series ed. Manchester: Manchester University Press , 1993. Abstract: Documents for the period 1154-1485 are translated and annotated.
The Constitutional History of Medieval England: 1216-1399, With Select Documents. Wilkinson, Bertie, ed. The Constitutional History of Medieval England: 1216-1399, With Select Documents. 3 Vols. London: Longmans, Green, 1948-1958. Abstract: A compilation, grouped by topic and with extensive interpretative commentary, of the main documents of importance for the study of medieval constitutional history. English translation.

English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461 Chaplais, Pierre, ed. English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971. Abstract: Contains 27 plates in actual or near actual size of original manuscripts, mostly from the PRO. They include royal writs, patent and close.

English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461 Chaplais, Pierre, ed. English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971. Abstract: Contains 27 plates in actual or near actual size of original manuscripts, mostly from the PRO. They include royal writs, patent and close.

English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461 Chaplais, Pierre, ed. English Royal Documents: King John - Henry VI, 1199-1461. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1971. Abstract: Contains 27 plates in actual or near actual size of original manuscripts, mostly from the PRO. They include royal writs, patent and close.