Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Evidence

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Evidence

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

 

U.S. - General      


Jones on Evidence, Civil and Criminal (Westlaw)

Clifford S. Fishman and Anne T. McKenna

Thomson Reuters

 U.S. federal and state

McCormick on Evidence (Westlaw Robert P. Mosteller, et al. Thomson Reuters Covers rules and case law 
Trial Evidence (Westlaw) (Wolters Kluwer) Wolfson, Warren D and Wolters Kluwer (Firm) Wolters Kluwer  U.S. federal 
Evidentiary Foundations (Lexis) Edward J. Imwinkelried, Edward L. Barrett, Jr. Matthew Bender & Co.  U.S. federal
Weinstein's Federal Evidence (Lexis) Mark S. Brodin, Joseph M. McLaughlin, Jack B. Weinstein, Margaret A. Berger Matthew Bender & Co. Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage
Weinstein's Evidence Manual (Lexis) Jack B. Weinstein and Margaret A. Berger Matthew Bender & Co. Abridged version of Weinstein's Federal Evidence

Federal Evidence (Westlaw)

Christopher B. Mueller and Laird C. Kirkpatrick

Thomson Reuters

Analytical text treatment of the Federal Rules of Evidence

Federal Courtroom Evidence (Lexis) Joseph W. Cotchett, G. Richard Poehner Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Weissenberger's Federal Evidence (Lexis) Glen Weissenberger, James J. Duane Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Federal Evidence Courtroom Manual (Lexis) Glen Weissenberger, A. J. Stephani Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal. Companion to state manuals.
Federal Evidence Practice Guide (Lexis) Joseph M. McLaughlin Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Federal Rules of Evidence (Westlaw) (Wolters Kluwer)

Wolters Kluwer (Firm)

Wolters Kluwer  
Federal Rules of Evidence Manual (Lexis) Stephen A. Saltzburg, Michael M. Martin, Daniel J. Capra Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Federal Evidence Tactics (Lexis) Edward J. Imwinkelried and David Schlueter Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Federal Civil Trials & Evidence (The Rutter Group Practice Guide) (Westlaw) Robert E. Jones, et al. The Rutter Group, a division of Thomson Reuters U.S. federal. Covers Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and Federal Rules of Evidence
Wharton's Criminal Evidence (Westlaw) Barbara E. Bergman, Nancy Hollander, and Theresa M. Duncan West Group U.S. federal, state, and military rules
Courtroom Criminal Evidence (Lexis) Edward J. Imwinkelried, Paul C. Giannelli, Francis A. Gilligan, Fredric I. Lederer Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Criminal Evidentiary Foundations (Lexis) Edward J. Imwinkelried, Daniel D. Blinka Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
       
U.S. - Scientific Evidence / Expert Witnesses      
Expert Witnesses in Civil Trials (Westlaw) Walter R. Lancaster West Group U.S. federal and state 
The New Wigmore: A Treatise on Evidence: Expert Evidence (Westlaw) (Wolters Kluwer Cheetah)

David P. Leonard

Wolters Kluwer  
Forensic DNA Evidence: Science and the Law (The Rutter Group, Criminal Practice Series) (Westlaw) Ming W. Chin, Michael Chamberlain, Amy Rojas, and  Lance Gima The Rutter Group, a division of Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state 
Scientific Evidence (Lexis) Paul C. Giannelli, Edward L. Imwinkelried, Andrea Roth, Jane Campbell Moriarty Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state 
Modern Scientific Evidence: The Law & Science of Expert Testimony(Westlaw) David L. Faigman, et al.  Thomson Reuters Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage
The Methods of Attacking Scientific Evidence (Lexis) (also Law Library Third Floor (KF8961 .I58 2004)) Edward J. Imwinkelried Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Psychological and Scientific Evidence in Criminal Trials (Westlaw) Publisher's editorial staff Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
Psychiatric and Psychological Evidence (Westlaw) Daniel W. Shuman and editiorial staff Thomson Reuters U.S. federal 
       
U.S. - Specific Topics      
eDiscovery and Digital Evidence (Westlaw) Jay E. Grenig and William C. Gleisner, III Thomson Reuters U.S. federal 
Arkfeld on Electronic Discovery and Evidence (Lexis) Mark R. Arkfeld Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
The New Wigmore: A Treatise on Evidence: Selected Rules of Limited Admissibility (Westlaw) David P. Leonard Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
The New Wigmore: A Treatise on Evidence: Evidentiary Privileges (Westlaw)



Edward J. Imwinkelried

 

Thomson Reuters

Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage

The New Wigmore: A Treatise on Evidence: Evidence of Other Misconduct & Similar Events (Westlaw) David P. Leonard Thomson Reuters Primarily U.S. federal, also covers Great Britain
The New Wigmore. A Treatise on Evidence: Impeachment and Rehabilitation (Westlaw) Roger Park and Tom Lininger Thomson Reuters Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage
Eyewitness Testimony: Civil and Criminal (Lexis) (also Law Library Third Floor KF9672 .L638 2007) Elizabeth F. Loftus, James M. Doyle, Jennifer E. Dysart & Karen A. Newirth Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Exculpatory Evidence:  The Accused's Constitutional Right to Introduce Favorable Evidence (Lexis) Edward J. Imwinkelried, Edward L. Barrett Jr., and Norman M. Garland Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
California      
Witkin California Evidence (Westlaw) (Lexis) Bernard Ernest Thomson Reuters Civil and criminal practice
Civil Trials & Evidence (The Rutter Group, California Practice Guide) (Westlaw)

William E. Wegner, et al.

The Rutter Group, a division of Thomson Reuters  
Simons on California Evidence (Westlaw) Mark B. Simons Thomson Reuters Some federal coverage
California Courtroom Evidence (Lexis) Joseph W. Cotchett  Matthew Bender & Co. Includes complete California Evidence Code
California Evidence Courtroom Manual (Lexis) Eileen A. Scallen; Glen Weissenberger Matthew Bender & Co. Includes complete California Evidence Code and comparison to the Federal Rules of Evidence
California Evidentiary Foundations (Lexis) Edward J. Imwinkelried, Thomas J. Leach Matthew Bender & Co. Focus on California Evidence Code
Electronic Evidence in California (Westlaw) Michael R. Overly Thomson Reuters