Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Criminal Law and Procedure

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Criminal Law and Procedure (see also --Constitutional Law, --Evidence)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S. - Substantive Criminal Law (generally)
Wharton's Criminal Law (Westlaw) (Law Library Closed Reserve (KF9219 .W55 1993) Charles E. Torcia and Francis Wharton Thomson Reuters

U.S. state and federal (and Model Penal Code) 

Substantive Criminal Law (Westlaw) (Law Library Closed Reserve KF9219 .L386 2017)

Wayne R. LaFave 

Thomson Reuters

U.S. state law (and Model Penal Code) primarily (some federal law coverage)

Criminal Law Defenses (Westlaw) (Law Library Closed Reserve KF 9240 .R63 1984)  

Paul H. Robinson

Thomson Reuters

U.S. state law (and Model Penal Code)

Criminal Defense Techniques (Lexis) Alison Garfield et al.  Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Corporate Criminal Liability and Prevention (Lexis) Richard S. Gruner  Law Journal Press U.S. federal and state
U.S. - Criminal Procedure 
Criminal Procedure (Westlaw) (Law Library Closed Reserve KF9619 .L34 2015) Wayne R. LaFave et al. Thomson Reuters

U.S. state and federal (including applicable federal constitutional law)

Coverage includes the right to appeal and other forms of post-conviction review

Criminal Practice Manual (Westlaw) Publisher's Editorial Staff Thomson Reuters

U.S. state and federal

Focus on procedure, from arraignment to trial

Federal Criminal Rules Handbook (Westlaw) Laurie L. Levenson  Thomson Reuters U.S. Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure
Orfield's Criminal Procedure Under the Federal Rules (Westlaw) Lester B. Orfield and Mark S. Rhodes Thomson Reuters U.S. Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure
Federal Criminal Practice (Lexis) Barry Boss et al.  James Publishing U.S. federal
Moore's Federal Practice - Criminal (Lexis) Daniel R. Coquillette et al.  Matthew Bender & Co. Federal Rules Of Civil Procedure
Federal Practice and Procedure (Wright and Miller) (Westlaw) Charles Alan Wright, Arthur R. Miller, et al. Thomson Reuters U.S. Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure (also covers federal civil procedure and rules of evidence)
Ninth Circuit Criminal Handbook (Lexis) Timothy A. Scott and Larry A. Burns Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. Ninth Circuit
Criminal Law Deskbook (Lexis) Patrick L. McCloskey Matthew Bender & Co. Thorough coverage of everything from arraignment and bail to sentencing
Criminal Law Advocacy (Lexis) Roger M. Goldman Matthew Bender & Co.
Federal Trial Handbook - Criminal (Westlaw) Stephen E. Arthur and Robert S. Hunter Thomson Reuters

U.S. federal

Coverage includes pretrial proceedings

Federal Criminal Trials (Lexis) James Cissell Matthew Bender & Co. Federal criminal procedure, rules of evidence, and constitutional protections
Pretrial Motions in Criminal Prosecutions (Lexis) Stuart Sacks Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Criminal Trial Techniques (Westlaw) F. Lee Bailey and Kenneth J. Fishman Thomson Reuters U.S. state and federal
Criminal Trial Error and Misconduct (Lexis) Bennett L. Gershman Matthew Bender & Co. Focus on the Sixth Amendment
Defending Federal Criminal Cases:  Attacking the Government's Proof (Lexis) Diana D. Parker et al.  Law Journal Press U.S. federal
Federal Criminal Appeals (Westlaw) Lissa Griffin Thomson Reuters U.S. federal Court of Appeals and U.S. Supreme Court
Criminal Investigation Handbook (Lexis) Thomas P. Mauriello  Matthew Bender & Co. Focus on the use of the internet to perpetuate a computer crime
Prosecutor's Manual for Arrest, Search and Seizure (Lexis) John M. Castellano Matthew Bender & Co. Focus on the Fourth Amendment 
Search and Seizure (Lexis) John Wesley Hall Jr. Matthew Bender & Co. Focus on the Fourth Amendment 
Grand Jury Practice (Lexis) ALM Law Journal Press U.S. federal and state
U.S. - Sentencing
Law of Sentencing (Westlaw) (Law Library Closed Reserve KF9685 .C35 2004) Arthur W. Campbell Thomson Reuters U.S. state and federal
Federal Sentencing Law and Practice (Westlaw Thomas W. Hutchison, et al. Thomson Reuters U.S. Sentencing Commission guidelines
Federal Sentencing for Business Crimes (Lexis) Kirby D. Behre & A. Jeff Ifrah Matthew Bender & Co. Focus on white collar crimes
Practice Under the Federal Sentencing Guidelines (Westlaw) (Wolters Kluwer) (Law Library Closed Reserve KF9685 .P73 2010- ) David Debold, et al. Wolters Kluwer U.S. Sentencing Commission guidelines
The Law of Probation and Parole (Westlaw) Neil P. Cohen Thomson Reuters U.S. state and federal
U.S. - Other Specific Topics 
Federal Habeas Manual (Westlaw) Brian R. Means Thomson Reuters

U.S. federal 

Federal Habeas Corpus Practice and Procedure (Lexis) Randy Hertz and James S. Liebman Matthew Bender & Co. Emphasis on state prisoners
Postconviction Remedies (Westlaw) Brian R. Means Thomson Reuters U.S. federal primarily (some state law coverage, mostly California)
Federal Postconviction Remedies and Relief Handbook with Forms (Westlaw) Donald E. Wilkes Thomson Reuters U.S. federal
Criminal Defense Ethics:  Law and Liability (Westlaw) John M. Burkoff Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state (and ABA rules of ethics)
Professional Responsibility in Criminal Defense Practice (Westlaw) John Wesley Hall, Jr. Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state (and ABA rules of ethics)
Prosecutorial Misconduct (Lexis) Joseph F. Lawless Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Hate Crimes Law (Westlaw) (Law Library Closed Reserve KF4749 .W26 2018) Zachary Wolfe Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
White Collar Crime (Westlaw) Joel Androphy Thomson Reuters U.S. federal (substantive and procedural law)
White Collar Crime: Business and Regulatory Offenses (Lexis) Otto G. Obermaier et al.  Law Journal Press Emphasis on federal prosecutions
Business Crime: Criminal Liability of the Business Community (Lexis) Stanley S. Arkin et al.  Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
RICO: Civil and Criminal Law Strategy (Lexis) Jed S. Rakoff et al.  Law Journal Press U.S. federal
White Collar Crime: RICO (Westlaw) H. Lowell Brown and Wes R. Porter Thomson Reuters U.S. federal (substantive and procedural law on RICO and related crimes)
Prosecution and Defense of Criminal Conspiracy Cases (Lexis) Paul Marcus Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Federal False Claims Act and Qui Tam Litigation (Lexis) Joel M. Androphy Law Journal Press Focus on the federal False Claims Act with some other state and federal false claims acts and whistleblower statutes
The Prosecution and Defense of Public Corruption (Lexis) Peter J. Henning and Lee Radek Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Rights of Prisoners (Westlaw) Michael B. Mushlin Thomson Reuters U.S. federal primarily (including federal constitutional law) (some coverage of state law and ABA standards)
U.S. Money Laundering (Lexis) Charles W. Blau and H. Lowell Brown Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Prosecution and Defense of Forfeiture Cases (Lexis) David B. Smith Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state (civil and criminal forfeiture)
Defense of Drunk Driving Cases: Criminal - Civil (Lexis) Richard E. Erwin et al.  Matthew Bender & Co. Primarily U.S. state law
Defense of Narcotics Cases (Lexis) David Bernheim Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and some state
Defense of Speeding, Reckless Driving and Vehicular Homicide (Lexis) James Farragher Campbell et al. Matthew Bender & Co.
The Entrapment Defense (Lexis) Paul Marcus Matthew Bender & Co. States entrapment statutes
Marijuana Regulation (Lexis) Karin D. Jones and James M. Shore Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
The Prosecution and Defense of Sex Crimes (Lexis) B. Anthony Morosco Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Sexual Assault Trials (Lexis) Paul DerOhannesian II Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal criminal law
Forensic Sciences (Lexis) Cyril H. Wecht Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state (criminal and civil)
Military Crimes and Defenses (Lexis) David A. Schlueter, Charles H. Rose, III, Victor Hansen and Christopher Behan Matthew Bender & Co. Uniform Code of Military Justice
Military Criminal Justice:  Practice and Procedure (Lexis) David A. Schlueter Matthew Bender & Co. Uniform Code of Military Justice, 2016 Military Justice Act, and Military Rules of Evidence
Military Court Rules of the United States (Lexis) Eugene R. Fidell et al. Matthew Bender & Co. Primarily the Uniform Code of Military Justice
California (primarily)
California Criminal Law (Westlaw) Laurie L. Levenson and Alex Ricciardulli Thomson Reuters (The Rutter Group)

Covers substantive law only (not criminal procedure)

California Criminal Law (Lexis) William Bateman Matthew Bender & Co.
Witkin California Criminal Law (Westlaw) (Lexis) (Law Library Third Floor - CA section Bernard E. Witkin, Norman L. Epstein, and members of the Witkin Legal Institute Thomson Reuters

Covers substantive and procedural law (including post-trial appeals and writs)

California Jurisprudence (Westlaw) Publisher's Editorial Staff Thomson Reuters

Covers substantive and procedural law (including post-trial appeals and writs)

California Criminal Procedure (Westlaw) (Law Library Closed Reserve KFC 1155 .L48 2012)

Laurie L. Levenson  Thomson Reuters (The Rutter Group)

Covers some federal constitutional law

Coverage includes post-trial appeals and writs

California Criminal Defense Practice (Lexis) Michael Millman, Charles Sevilla and Barry Tarlow Matthew Bender & Co. California criminal law and procedure
Sentencing California Crimes (Westlaw) Judge J. Richard Couzens (Ret.), et al. Thomson Reuters (The Rutter Group)
California Three Strikes Sentencing (Westlaw) Judge J. Richard Couzens (Ret.) and Presiding Justice Tricia A. Bigelow Thomson Reuters (The Rutter Group)
Caskey California Search & Seizure (Westlaw) Gregory M. Caskey Thomson Reuters Covers some federal constitutional law
California Confessions Law (Westlaw) Hon. Vincent J. O'Neill, Jr. Thomson Reuters Covers some federal constitutional law
California White Collar Crime and Business Litigation (Lexis) Thomas A. Papageorge and Robert C. Fellmeth Tower Publishing Covers both criminal and civil actions for acts of wrongdoing in business 
California Criminal Discovery (Lexis) Brian M. Hoffstadt & Douglas  Matthew Bender & Co. Covers some federal constitutional law
Foreign/International
Money Laundering, Asset Forfeiture and Compliance:  A Global Guide (Lexis) William H. Byrnes & Robert J. Munro Matthew Bender & Co. Covers 9 geographic regions containing over 75 foreign countries