Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Patent Law

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Patent Law (see also Intellectual Property Law)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S. Federal (primarily)
Chisum on Patents (Lexis) Donald S. Chisum Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Patent Law Fundamentals (Westlaw) John Gladstone Mills III, et al. Thomson Reuters

Some international and foreign law coverage

Covers substantive and procedural law (multi-volume)

Patent Law Basics (Westlaw) John Gladstone Mills III, et al. Thomson Reuters

Some international and foreign law coverage

Covers substantive and procedural law (single-volume)

Patent Law Handbook (Westlaw)  Lawrence M. Sung and Jeff E. Schwartz Thomson Reuters

Covers substantive and procedural law

Patent Law Perspectives (Lexis) Eric E. Bensen et al. Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Patent Law:  Legal and Economic Principles (Westlaw) John W. Schlicher Thomson Reuters

Covers substantive law and underlying economic principles

America Invents Act:  A Guide to Patent Litigation and Patent Procedure (Westlaw)

Edward D. Manzo

Thomson Reuters

Covers substantive and procedural law

Moy's Walker on Patents (Westlaw)

R. Carl Moy

Thomson Reuters

Covers substantive law primarily

U.S. Patent Prosecutors Desk Reference (Lexis)

Joshua P. Graham and Thomas G. Marlow

LexisNexis Office Actions issued by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (“USPTO”) rejecting patent application claims
Intellectual Property Litigation Guide: Patents and Trade Secrets (Westlaw) Gregory E. Upchurch Thomson Reuters

Some discussion of state law with respect to trade secrets

Covers substantive and procedural law (focuses on the litigation process)

Patent Statements of Law (Lexis) Eric E. Bensen Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal 
Patent Office Rules and Practice (Lexis) Lester Horwitz and Ethan Horwitz Matthew Bender & Co. Detailed rule-by-rule analysis of the Patent and Trademark Office Rules of Practice
U.S. Patent Opinions and Evaluations (Lexis) Eric E. Bensen LexisNexis
Patent Office Litigation (Westlaw) Jason D. Eisenberg and Robert Greene Sterne, Editors Thomson Reuters

Some foreign law (including European Union) coverage

Focuses on procedural law

Horwitz on Patent Litigation (Lexis) Lester Horwitz and Ethan Horwitz Matthew Bender & Co.
Winning the Patent Damages Case (Lexis) Stephen A. Holzen LexisNexis Analytical framework for determining the likely damages award in a patent case
Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit: Practice and Procedure (Lexis) Donald R. Dunner et al. Matthew Bender & Co. Procedure for patent and trademark cases on review in the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office and the U.S. District Courts
Patent Infringement: Compensation and Damages (Lexis) Bryan W. Butler and Robin Sacolick  Law Journal Press U.S. federal
Trial Lawyer's Guide to Post Grant Patent Proceedings (Lexis) Kenneth R. Adamo et al. LexisNexis Focus on Patent Trial and Appeal Board rules and regulations
Patent Law Digest (Lexis) Donald S. Chisum Matthew Bender & Co. Summaries of all patent decisions of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
Patent Applications Handbook (Westlaw) Stephen A. Becker et al. Thomson Reuters

Covers substantive and procedural law related to filing and prosecuting patent applications

Patent Application Process (Westlaw) James E. Hawes & Frederic M. Douglas Thomson Reuters

Covers substantive and procedural law related to filing and prosecuting patent applications

Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (Lexis) Robert A. Clarke Matthew Bender & Co.
Patent Claims (Westlaw) (also Law Library Closed Reserve KF3120 .L46) Ernest Bainbridge Lipscomb III Thomson Reuters

Covers substantive law related to drafting and construing patent claims 

Patent Claim Construction in the Federal Circuit (Westlaw) Edward D. Manzo Thomson Reuters

Covers substantive and procedural law related to construing patent claims

Priority of Invention and the AIA (Westlaw Jerome Rosenstock Wolters Kluwer Law and Business

Covers substantive and procedural law related to patent interference, both before and after the America Invents Act (AIA) 

Patent Damages Law and Practice (Westlaw) John Skenyon, Christopher Marchese, and John Land Thomson Reuters

Covers substantive and procedural law related to patent damages

Bensen on Patent Licensing Transactions (Lexis) Eric E. Bensen Matthew Bender & Co. Some foreign patent licensing and agreements coverage and U.S. taxation of of foreign patent transactions
Biotechnology and the Law (Westlaw) Iver P. Cooper Thomson Reuters

Some international and foreign law coverage

Covers substantive and procedural law

U.S. Biotechnology Patent Law (Westlaw)

Jorge A. Goldstein

Thomson Reuters

Covers substantive law only

Foreign Law

Patents Throughout the World (Westlaw)
Thomson Reuters More than 180 foreign countries
Baxter World Patent Law (Lexis) J.W. Baxter et al. Matthew Bender & Co. Comparison of U.K., U.S., Canadian, European, and Japanese patent law and various foreign conventions
Getting the Deal Through: Patents (Lexis) Louis E. Fogel Law Business Research Ltd. 32 foreign countries and the U.S.
Trade Secrets Throughout the World (Westlaw Melvin F. Jager Thomson Reuters 37 foreign countries, the EU, Middle East and North Africa, and the U.S.