Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Contract Law

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Contract Law

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S. State
Corbin on Contracts (Lexis) Timothy Murray et al. Matthew Bender & Co. Also covers Uniform Commercial Code
Corbin on Contracts Desk Edition (Lexis) John E. Murray Jr. & Timothy Murray Matthew Bender & Co. Abridged version of above

Williston on Contracts (Westlaw)

 Richard A. Lord

Thomson Reuters

Also covers Uniform Commercial Code

Modern Law of Contracts (Westlaw)

Howard O. Hunter and Keith A. Rowley

Thomson Reuters

Also covers Uniform Commercial Code (some international law coverage)

California
California Contract Litigation (Lexis) Charles Crompton, Dana Dunwoody, Hon. Jon S. Tigar Matthew Bender & Co. Focus on California contract law, including California Commercial Code
California Jurisprudence (Westlaw) Publisher's Editorial Staff Thomson Reuters Complete analysis of state law, including contracts. Some federal coverage
Witkin's Summary of California Law (Chapter 1) (Law Library Closed Reserve) (Westlaw) Bernard E. Witkin and members of the Witkin Legal Institute Thomson Reuters Broad overview of 22 major topics, including contracts
Government Contracts
Government Contracts:  Law, Administration & Procedures (Lexis) John Cosgrove McBride, Thomas J. Touhey, and Walter A. I. Wilson Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Federal Contract Management (Lexis) Norman A. Steiger Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
International/Foreign
International Agency, Distribution & Licensing Agreements (Westlaw) Richard Christou Thomson Reuters Covers 10 jurisdictions, including the United States
Transnational Law in Commercial Legal Practice (international and European contract law) (Westlaw) Center for Transnational Law Central Center for Transnational Law, Quadis Covers UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts, Principles of European Contract Law and CENTRAL-List of Principles, Rules and Standards of the Lex Mercatoria
International Government Contract Law (Westlaw) Allen B. Green West Includes comparative law overview of major government contracting economies; free trade v. protectionism in the U.S.; the U.S. as a military exporter; USAID programs; the World Bank procurement system; and  the UNCITRAL model procurement code
Getting the Deal Through: Public Procurement (Lexis) Law Business Research Ltd. Covers 34 jurisdictions, including the United States
Eckstrom's Licensing in Foreign & Domestic Operations (Westlaw) David M. Epstein Thomson Reuters Covers 30 jurisdictions, including the United States
Eckstrom's Licensing in Foreign & Domestic Operations: The Forms & Substance of Licensing (Westlaw) Robert Goldscheider and John Jarosz Thomson Reuters Provides model forms and clauses compatible with the above version