Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Employment/Labor Law

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Employment/Labor Law (see also: --Civil Rights Law; --Disabilities Law; --Health Care Law; --Retirement Plans; --Tax Law; --Workers' Compensation Law)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S. - General
Labor and Employment Law (Lexis) N. Peter Lareau Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Federal Employment Litigation (The Rutter Group Practice Guide) (Westlaw) The Rutter Group, a division of Thomson Reuters
Employment Coordinator (Westlaw) Publisher's Editorial Staff Thomson Reuters

Employment Practices Manual (Westlaw)
Andrew J. Ruzicho and Louis A. Jacobs Thomson Reuters
Employment Law Deskbook (Lexis) Shawe & Rosenthal Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Guide to Employment Law and Regulation (Westlaw) Editorial Staff Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
Global Employer Handbook - United States (Westlaw) Covers all 50 U.S. states and the District of Columbia
Labor & Employment Law: Compliance & Litigation (Westlaw) Frederick T. Golder and David R. Golder Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
U.S. - Specific Topics
Employer's Guide to the Fair Labor Standards Act (Westlaw)

Daniel B. Abrahams, Sandra J. Boyd, Gilbert J. Ginsburg, and Shlomo D. Katz

Thompson Publishing Group

Federal Labor Law: NLRB Practice (Westlaw) Lee Modjeska and Abigail Cooley Modjeska. Updated from 2004 to 2018 by Zachary L. Karmen. Updated since 2019 by Dana Shilling. Thomson Reuters U.S. federal
National Labor Relations Act: Law and Practice (Lexis) N. Peter Lareau Matthew Bender & Co. Analysis of the National Labor Relations Act
Employee Rights Litigation: Pleading and Practice (Lexis) Janice Goodman Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state statutory and common law claims that can be raised on behalf of employees
Unjust Dismissal (Lexis) Lex K. Larson and Susan G. Daniels Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state with focus on developing judicial exceptions
Termination of Employment (Westlaw) James O. Castagnera, Patrick J. Cihon, and Andrew P. Morriss Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
Litigating Wrongful Discharge Claims (Westlaw) Paul H. Tobias Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
Whistleblower Law: A Practitioner's Guide (Lexis) Lisa J. Banks and Jason C. Schwartz Law Journal Press U.S. federal and state
Labor & Employment Arbitration (Lexis) Tim Bornstein, Ann Gosline, and Marc D. Greenbaum Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Larson's Workers' Compensation Law (Lexis) Lex K. Larson and Arthur Larson Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Larson's Workers' Compensation, Desk Edition (Lexis) Lex K. Larson and Arthur Larson Matthew Bender & Co. Some state coverage
Employer's Guide to COVID-19 and Emerging Workplace Issues (Lexis) Richard J. Simmons, Brian D. Murphy, Adam R. Rosenthal Castle Publications Some state coverage
Employer Health Care Plans After The Affordable Care Act (Westlaw) William D. Mitchell Thomson Reuters Coverage includes laws related to the ACA, including the ACHA, HIPAA, ERISA, FFCRA, and CARES Act  

Employer's Guide to the Health Insurance Portability & Accountability Act (Westlaw)

Terry Humo

Thompson HR, a division of BLR

COBRA - Employer's Guide to the Federal Health Insurance Continuation and Portability Rules (Lexis) Richard J. Simmons Castle Publications  Federal COBRA rules and Cal-COBRA rules
Family & Medical Leave Handbook (Westlaw) Peter A. Susser and David B. Berry Thompson HR, a division of BLR U.S. federal and state
Employer's Guide to the Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (Lexis) Richard J. Simmons Castle Publications U.S. federal and state
Wage and Hour Law: Compliance & Practice (Westlaw) Les A. Schneider, J.D. and J. Larry Stine, J.D. Clark Boardman Callaghan U.S. federal
Wages & Hours: Law and Practice (Lexis) Laurie E. Leader Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state laws governing minimum wage, overtime, and child labor standards
Employee Benefits Guide (Lexis) David L. Bacon, David W. Tucker Matthew Bender & Co. Focus on ERISA and COBRA
Employee Benefits Law: ERISA and Beyond (Lexis) Law Journal Press Focus on ERISA and other statutes and regulation affecting employee benefits plans
Welfare Benefits Guide: Health Plans & Other Employer Sponsored Benefits (Westlaw) Paul J. Routh Callaghan & Company Focuses on non-pension employee benefits and the statutes that govern them, including ERISA, COBRA and HIPAA
Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (Lexis) Brian J. Caveney Matthew Bender & Co. Includes state-specific AMA guides
Occupational Safety and Health Act (Lexis) John M. Hament,  Roscoe B. Hogan, and Robert D. Moran Matthew Bender & Co. OHSA Act and state OSHA programs and OSHA-Type state laws
Employee Handbook and Personnel Policies Manual (Lexis) Richard J. Simmons Castle Publications U.S. federal and state
Employer's Guide to Workplace Security and Violence Prevention (Lexis) Richard J. Simmons Castle Publications  U.S. federal and state
Drafting the Union Contract (Lexis) Anne Marie Lofaso Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Employment Screening (Lexis) N. Peter Lareau Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and some state
McGrady on Social Media Aspects of Employment Law (Lexis) Paul D. McGrady Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Noncompete Law (Lexis) William Constangy Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and some state-specific
California
Employment Litigation (The Rutter Group Practice Guide) (Westlaw) Ming W. Chin et al. The Rutter Group, a division of Thomson Reuters Federal and California state law and procedure
Labor & Employment in California: Guide to Employment Laws, Regulations, and Practices (Lexis) Bernadette M. O'Brien, Debra A. Miller, and Ruby Grad Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and California
California Employment Law (Lexis) Kirby Wilcox et al. Matthew Bender & Co. Some U.S. federal
California Law of Employee Injuries and Workers' Compensation (Lexis) Warren L. Hanna, Kenneth B. Peterson, and Stephen Ford Matthew Bender & Co. California workers’ compensation law
California Wages and Hours (Lexis) George Abele, Kirby Wilcox Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and California
California Leave Law: A Practical Guide for Employers (Lexis) Bernadette O'Brien and Lizbeth West Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and California
California Meal and Rest Period Rules: Proactive Strategies for Compliance (Lexis) Richard J. Simmons Castle Publications   California's meal and rest period rules
California's Sick Pay Obligations - The Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act (Lexis) Richard J. Simmons Castle Publications California's sick pay law and the amended version of the kin-care law
California Public Sector Employment Law (Lexis) Bruce Barsook, Christopher E. Platten, and Carol A. Vendrillo Matthew Bender & Co. California state wage and hour laws
California Public Sector Labor Relations (Lexis) Authored by members of the Labor and Employment Law Section Matthew Bender & Co. Statutes, case law, regulations, procedure, and agency decisions governing public sector labor relations in California
Employer's Guide to SB 198 Injury and Illness Prevention Programs and the California Corporate Criminal Liability Act (Lexis) Richard J. Simmons Castle Publications Employer-perspective on statutes, regulations and obligations created by both laws.
Foreign/International
Global Employer Handbook - International (Westlaw)

Covers over 80 foreign jurisdictions, including the U.S.

Getting the Deal Through: Labour and Employment (Lexis) Walter Ahrens et al. Law Business Research Ltd. Covers 49 foreign jurisdictions, including the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: Executive Compensation and Employee Benefits (Lexis) Maureen J. Gorman and Debra Hoffman Law Business Research Ltd. Covers 17 foreign jurisdictions, including the U.S.
XpertHR International Manual (Lexis) XpertHR Covers 45 foreign jurisdictions