Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Securities Regulation

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Securities Regulation (see also --Business and Nonprofit Entities; --Tax Law)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S. - General
Law of Securities Regulation (Westlaw) Thomas L. Hazen Thomson Reuters Some state coverage
Securities & Federal Corporate Law (Westlaw) Harold S. Bloomenthal and Samuel Wolff Thomson Reuters Some state and international coverage
Securities Law Handbook (Westlaw) Harold S. Bloomenthal and Samuel Wolff Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
Securities Law Techniques (Lexis) A. A. Sommer, Jr. Matthew Bender & Co.
Securities Practice Guide (Lexis) Lorraine Massaro and Robert Zinn Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Securities Practice: Federal & State Enforcement (Westlaw) Marc I. Steinberg and Ralph C. Ferrara Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
Securities Regulation: Liabilities and Remedies (Lexis) Marc I. Steinberg Law Journal Press U.S. federal and state
Blue Sky Law (Westlaw) Joseph C. Long Thomson/West Focus on state securities regulation
Blue Sky Regulation (Lexis) Robert N. Rapp Matthew Bender & Co. State-focus
U.S. - Specific Topics

Securities: Public & Private Offerings (Westlaw)

William M. Prifti

West Group

Some state coverage

Sarbanes-Oxley Act in Perspective (Westlaw) Harold S. Bloomenthal Thomson Reuters U.S. federal
Bromberg and Lowenfels on Securities Fraud (Westlaw) Alan R. Bromberg, Lewis D. Lowenfels, and Michael J. Sullivan Thomson/West Focus on SEC Rule 10b-5
Disclosure & Remedies Under the Securities Laws (Westlaw) Arnold S. Jacobs Thomson Reuters Focus on SEC Rule 10b-5
Federal Securities Act of 1933 (Lexis) A.A. Sommer Jr. Matthew Bender & Co. Full coverage of the Securities Act of 1933
Federal Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (Lexis) A.A. Sommer Jr. Matthew Bender & Co. Full coverage of the Securities Act of 1934
Litigating Securities Class Actions (Lexis) Jonathan N. Eisenberg Matthew Bender & Co.
Civil Liabilities:  Enforcement & Litigation Under the 1933 Act (Westlaw) J. William Hicks Thomson Reuters Focus on Securities Act of 1933
Mutual Fund Litigation and Insurance Practice Guide (Lexis) Matthew Larrabee et al. Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Insider Trading Regulation, Enforcement, and Prevention (Westlaw) Donald C. Langevoort Thomson Reuters U.S. federal
Ferrara on Insider Trading and The Wall (Lexis) Ralph C. Ferrara Law Journal Press U.S. federal
Securities Crimes (Westlaw) Marvin G. Pickholz Thomson Reuters Primarily U.S. federal, some international coverage
Securities Enforcement: Counseling and Defense (Lexis)

Kenneth B. Winer and Samuel J. Winer

Matthew Bender & Co. Defending securities enforcement actions by the SEC, DOJ, and other government authorities
Securities Arbitration Procedure Manual (Lexis) David E. Robbins Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Capital Markets Handbook (Westlaw) Bruce S. Foerster, Charles L. Bennett and Jeffrey J. Posner Aspen Publishers U.S. federal
A Practical Guide to Capital Markets: Participants, Instruments and Compliance (Westlaw) Abe Mastbaum West, a Thomson Reuters business Introductory-level guide to capital markets
Securitizations:  Legal and Regulatory Issues (Lexis) C. VanLeer Davis III and Patrick Dolan Law Journal Press Some international coverage
Going Private (Lexis) Law Journal Press U.S. federal and some state
Investment Advisers: Law and Compliance (Lexis)

James E. Anderson and Justin L. Browder

Matthew Bender & Co. Focus on the Investment Advisers Act and the SEC
The Practice Guide to PIPEs (Lexis)

Robert S. Matlin and Matthew L. Ogurick

Matthew Bender & Co.
Regulation of Investment Companies (Lexis)

Thomas P. Lemke, Gerald T. Lins, and A. Thomas Smith, III

Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Regulation of Exchange Traded Funds (Lexis)

Thomas P. Lemke, Gerald T. Lins, and W. John McGuire

Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
California
Practice Under the California Securities Laws (Lexis)

Harold Marsh Jr. and Robert H. Volk

Matthew Bender & Co. Some federal
Foreign/International
International Capital Markets & Securities Regulation (Westlaw) Harold S. Bloomenthal and Samuel Wolff Thomson Reuters Covers the current status of securities regulations in the major industrialized countries and emerging markets
U.S. Securities Law for International Financial Transactions and Capital Markets (Westlaw)

Guy P. Lander

Thomson Reuters

Focus on U.S. securities regulation of international financial transactions, broker-dealers, and investment advisers

International Dimensions of U.S. Securities Law (Westlaw) J. William Hicks Thomson Reuters Focus on how domestic securities law applies to foreign persons doing business in the U.S., and to domestic and foreign persons doing business outside the U.S.
International Securities Regulation (Westlaw) Robert C. Rosen Thomson Reuters Covers 42 jurisdictions, including the U.S.
International Securities Law Handbook (Westlaw) CCH Incorporated Thomson Reuters
Getting the Deal Through: Securities Litigation (Lexis) Antony Ryan and Philippe Z Selendy Law Business Research Ltd. 11 foreign countries and the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: Securities Finance (Lexis) Andrew J. Pitts Law Business Research Ltd. 9 foreign countries and the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: Initial Public Offerings (Lexis) Joshua Ford Bonnie and Kevin P Kennedy Law Business Research Ltd. 13 foreign countries and the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: Private Equity Fund Formation (Lexis) Atif Azher Law Business Research Ltd. 16 foreign countries and the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: Structured Finance & Securitisation (Lexis) Patrick D. Dolan Law Business Research Ltd. 13 foreign countries and the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: Equity Derivatives (Lexis) Witold Balaban et al. Law Business Research Ltd. 11 foreign countries and the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: Fund Management (Lexis) Michelle Moran Law Business Research Ltd. Global overview, 16 foreign countries, and the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: High Yield Debt (Lexis) Arthur D Robinson, Mark Brod and David Azarkh Law Business Research Ltd. Laws and regulations affecting high-yield markets worldwide