Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Copyright Law

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Copyright Law (see also: --Intellectual Property Law, --Media, Communications & Entertainment (including Art and Sports) Law)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S. Federal (primarily)
Nimmer on Copyright (Lexis) Melville B. Nimmer & David Nimmer Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
The Law of Copyright (Westlaw) Howard B. Abrams and Tyler T. Ochoa Thomson Reuters

Some international coverage

Coverage includes substantive and procedural law, copyright registration, and licensing 

Patry on Copyright (Westlaw) William F. Patry Thomson Reuters

Some international coverage

Coverage includes substantive and procedural law, copyright registration, and licensing  

Copyright Law in Business and Practice (Westlaw)

John W. Hazard, Jr.

Thomson Reuters

Some international coverage

Coverage includes substantive and procedural law, copyright registration, and licensing 

Corporate Counsel's Guide to Copyright Law (Westlaw)

Publisher's Editorial Staff

Thomson Reuters

Some international coverage

Coverage includes substantive and procedural law, copyright registration, and licensing 

Associate's Guide to the Practice of Copyright Law (Lexis) Meaghan H. Kent & Joshua J. Kaufman LexisNexis Some international coverage
Cyberlaw: Intellectual Property in the Digital Millennium (Lexis) Jay Dratler Jr.  Law Journal Press Focus on the Digital Millennium Copyright Act
Patry on Fair Use (Westlaw) William F. Patry Thomson Reuters

Some international coverage

Focuses solely on the "fair use" doctrine in copyright law

Copyright Registration Practice (Westlaw) James E. Hawes and Bernard C. Dietz Thomson Reuters

Some international and foreign coverage

Primary focus on the copyright registration process (with some discussion of the substantive law)

Copyright Litigation Handbook (Westlaw) Raymond J. Dowd Thomson Reuters

Primary focus on the litigation process (with some discussion of the substantive law)

Copyright and the Public Domain (Lexis) ALM Law Journal Press Some international
Foreign and International (primarily)
World Copyright Law (Westlaw) Trevor Cook, ed. Thomson Reuters

Some U.S. coverage 

Coverage includes substantive law, copyright registration, and licensing 

Copyright Throughout the World (Westlaw) Silke von Lewinski, ed. Thomson Reuters

Foreign primarily (over 25 countries, including U.S.)

Coverage includes substantive and procedural law, copyright registration, and licensing 

International Copyright Law and Practice (Lexis) Paul Edward Geller;  Melville B. Nimmer,and Paul Edward Geller Matthew Bender & Co. 22 foreign countries and the U.S. 
Getting the Deal Through: Copyright (Lexis) Andrew H. Bart et al. Law Business Research Ltd. 13 foreign countries and the U.S.