Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Trademark and Unfair Competition Law

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Trademark and Unfair Competition Law (see also --Antitrust Law and Trade Regulation; --Consumer Protection Law; --Intellectual Property Law; --Media, Communications & Entertainment Law; --Torts)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S. Federal (primarily)

McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition (Westlaw)

J. Thomas McCarthy

Thomson Reuters

Includes some U.S. state and international coverage

Coverage includes substantive and procedural law, trademark registration, and licensing  

Gilson on Trademarks (Lexis) Anne Gilson LaLonde Matthew Bender & Co. More than 450 trademark practice forms on all aspects of USPTO proceedings

Callmann on Unfair Competition, Trademarks, and Monopolies (Westlaw)

Louis Altman, Malla Pollack, and Rudolf Callmann

Thomson Reuters

Parts VI and VII focus on U.S. federal trademark law

Part VIII provides international coverage 

Coverage includes substantive and procedural law, trademark registration, and licensing  

Corporate Counsel's Guide to Trademark Law (Westlaw) Malla Pollack Thomson Reuters

Includes some international coverage 

Coverage includes substantive and procedural law, trademark registration, and licensing

Trademark and Unfair Competition Deskbook (Lexis) David C. Hilliard, Joseph N. Welch II, and Janet A. Marvel Matthew Bender & Co. Primarily U.S. federal with some state
Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure (Lexis) Catherine P. Cain Matthew Bender & Co. Practices and procedures relative to prosecution of applications to register marks in the USPTO
Trademark Registration Process (Westlaw) James E. Hawes and Amanda V. Dwight Thomson Reuters

Includes some coverage of U.S. state, international, and foreign registrations

Coverage includes the enforcement, licensing, and loss of trademark rights

Federal Unfair Competition: Lanham Act § 43(a) (Westlaw) Charles E. McKenney and George F. Long III Thomson Reuters

U.S. federal Lanham Act § 43(a) (15 U.S.C. § 1125(a))

Covers substantive and procedural law

Trade Dress Protection (Westlaw) William E. Levin Thomson Reuters

Includes some U.S. state and international coverage 

Coverage includes substantive and procedural law and trade dress registration 

Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Practice and Procedure (Westlaw) Gary D. Krugman Thomson Reuters U.S. Trademark Trial and Appeal Board (TTAB) procedure
Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Manual of Procedure (Lexis) U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Practice and procedure for litigating trial cases before the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board
Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit: Practice and Procedure (Lexis) Donald R. Dunner et al. Matthew Bender & Co.
Milgrim on Trade Secrets (Lexis) Roger M. Milgrim Matthew Bender & Co. Primarily federal with coverage of state statutes voiding restrictive covenants
Trade Secrets Law (Westlaw) Melvin F. Jager Thomson Reuters All 50 states, the EU, and Japan
Trade Secrets (Lexis) James Pooley Law Journal Press Primarily U.S. federal
Trade Secrets: Law & Practice (Lexis) David W. Quinto & Stuart H. Singer LexisNexis U.S. federal and state. Focuses on the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act (CFAA) and the Uniform Trade Secrets Act (UTSA)
Intellectual Property Litigation Guide: Patents and Trade Secrets (Westlaw) Gregory E. Upchurch Thomson Reuters

Some discussion of state law with respect to trade secrets

Covers substantive and procedural law (focuses on the litigation process)

Corporate Counsel's Guide to Protecting Trade Secrets (Westlaw) Thomson Reuters
California
Matthew Bender Practice Guide: California Unfair Competition and Business Torts (Lexis) Conrad Rushing, Bruce Simon, and Elia Weinbach  Matthew Bender & Co.
Foreign / International (primarily)
Horwitz on World Trademark Law (Lexis) Ethan Horwitz Matthew Bender & Co. Detailed coverage of 35 major jurisdictions and summary coverage of another 100 jurisdictions.
International Trademark Dilution (Westlaw) Daniel R. Bereskin, QC and Ronald J. Lehrman Thomson Reuters

Foreign coverage primarily, including European Union (also covers U.S. federal law and European Convention on Human Rights)

Covers substantive law

Trademark Practice Throughout the World (Westlaw) Mary M. Squyres and Nanette Norton Thomson Reuters

International 

Coverage includes substantive law, registration/filing, licensing, and enforcement

Trademarks Throughout the World (Westlaw) Donna A. Tobin Thomson Reuters

Foreign coverage primarily (summarizes trademark laws of over 180 countries, including U.S.)

Coverage includes trademark registration, licensing, and enforcement; also includes text of several international conventions on trademark

Getting the Deal Through: Trademarks (Lexis) Olivia Maria Baratta and Theodore H. Davis Jr. Law Business Research Ltd. 41 foreign countries, the E.U., and the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: Domains & Domain Names (Lexis) Flip Petillion Law Business Research Ltd. 10 foreign countries and the U.S.

Trade Secrets Throughout the World (Westlaw)

Melvin F. Jager Thomson Reuters More than 40 foreign countries and the U.S.