Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Privacy, Freedom of Information, and Cybersecurity Law

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Privacy, Freedom of Information, and Cybersecurity Law (see also: --Computer/Internet Law; --Health Care Law; --Media, Communications & Entertainment Law; --Torts)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S. - General
Privacy Law (Lexis)

Charlene Brownlee and Blaze Waleski 

 

Law Journal Press
Corporate Counsel's Guide to Privacy (Westlaw)
Publisher's Editorial Staff
Thomson Reuters
U.S. federal & state primarily (some European Union and Canadian coverage)
Privacy Torts (Westlaw)
David A. Elder
Thomson Reuters
U.S. state (and applicable First Amendment law)
Rights of Publicity and Privacy (Westlaw)
Thomas J. McCarthy
Thomson Reuters
U.S. state primarily (some federal, including First Amendment, coverage)
Data Security and Privacy Law (Westlaw)
Ronald N. Weikers
Thomson Reuters
U.S. federal primarily (some U.S.state, European Union, and selected foreign country coverage)
Information Security and Privacy:  A Guide to Federal and State Law and Compliance (Westlaw)
Andrew B. Serwin
Thomson Reuters
U.S. federal and state
Information Security Law (Lexis) Mark G. Milone & Mr. Milone Law Journal Press U.S. federal and state and regulation by business and international groups
Data Privacy, Protection, and Security Law (Lexis) Raymond T. Nimmer and Holly K. Towle Sheshunoff U.S. federal and state and some international (EU, Canada, and Asia-Pacific)
Computer Law: A Guide to Cyberlaw and Data Privacy Law (Lexis) David Bender Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state and international (EU and Asia-Pacific) privacy and data protection laws
Cybercrime and Security (Westlaw) Pauline C. Reich Thomson Reuters
Thomas on Data Breach:  A Practical Guide to Handling Data Breach Notifications Worldwide (Westlaw)
Lisa M. Thomas
Thomson Reuters
U.S. federal and state primarily (some European Union and selected foreign country coverage)
Complete Security Breach Notification Compliance Handbook (Westlaw)
Ian C. Ballon
Thomson Reuters
U.S. state
Guidebook to the Freedom of Information and Privacy Acts (Westlaw)
Cornish F. Hitchcock
Thomson Reuters
U.S. federal Privacy Act of 1974 (5 U.S.C. § 552a)
U.S. - Workplace Privacy
Employee Privacy Law (Westlaw)
L. Camille Hebert
Thomson Reuters
U.S. federal and state 
Workplace Privacy:  Real Answers and Practical Solutions (Westlaw)
Barbara S. Magill and Worklaw Network
Thomson Reuters
U.S. federal and state (including 50-state surveys on selected topics)
U.S. - Health Care Privacy
Employer's Guide to HIPAA Privacy Requirements (Westlaw)
Kathy Bakich
Thomson Reuters
U.S. federal primarily (some U.S. state coverage)
Guide to Medical Privacy and HIPAA (Westlaw)
D'Arcy Guerin Gue and Steven J. Fox
Thomson Reuters
U.S. federal
Medical Records Privacy Under HIPAA (Lexis) Michael M. Maddigan Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Health Care Privacy and Security (Westlaw)
Andrew Serwin and Kenneth Mortensen
Thomson Reuters
U.S. federal and state primarily (some international (OECD and APEC) coverage)
U.S. - Electronic/Cyber Surveillance
Wiretapping and Eavesdropping:  Surveillance in the Internet Age (Westlaw)
Clifford S. Fishman; Anne T. McKenna
Thomson Reuters
U.S. federal and state
Law of Electronic Surveillance (Westlaw)
Hon. James Carr, Prof. Patricia Bellia and Evan A. Creutz
Thomson Reuters
U.S. federal and state
Modern Privacy & Surveillance Law (Lexis) Steve C. Posner Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
International/Foreign
Information Security and Privacy:  A Guide to International Law and Compliance (Westlaw)
Andrew B. Serwin
Thomson Reuters
International (European Union, OECD, and APEC) as well as selected foreign countries
International Encyclopaedia of Laws: Cyber Law (Westlaw) Thomson Reuters
Getting the Deal Through:  Data Protection & Privacy (Lexis) Lisa J. Sotto and Aaron P. Simpson Law Business Research Ltd. 33 foreign countries and the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: Cybersecurity (Lexis) Benjamin A. Powell and Jason C. Chipman Law Business Research Ltd. 19 foreign countries and the U.S.