Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Natural Resources/Energy/Public Utilities Law

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Natural Resources/Energy/Public Utilities Law (see also Environmental Law)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S.

Public Natural Resources Law (Westlaw)

George Cameron Coggins and Robert L. Glicksman

Thomson/West

Focus on federal natural resource policy, case law, and litigation

Law of Water Rights & Resources (Westlaw)

A. Dan Tarlock

West

U.S. federal and state

Waters and Water Rights (Lexis) Amy K. Kelley Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal, state, and Indian, some international coverage
Agricultural Law (Lexis) Neil E. Harl Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Energy Law and Transactions (Lexis) David J. Muchow and William A. Mogel Matthew Bender & Co. Some international coverage
Renewable Energy Law and Policy (Lexis) Jack Jacobs Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Summers Oil & Gas (Westlaw) Nancy Saint-Paul Thomson Reuters Overview of statutes and regulations governing development, production, and transportation of oil and gas, with an extensive examination of court decisions affecting the oil and gas field of law
Oil and Gas Law (Lexis) Howard R. Williams, Charles J. Meyers et al. Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Oil and Gas Law (Lexis) Howard R. Williams, Charles J. Meyers et al. Matthew Bender & Co.  Abridged version of Oil and Gas Law
Law of Oil and Gas (Lexis) Eugene Kuntz et al. Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
The Law of Oil and Gas Leases (Lexis) Earl A. Brown Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Regulation of the Gas Industry (Lexis) William A. Mogel Matthew Bender & Co. Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage
Law of Federal Oil and Gas Leases (Lexis) The Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation Matthew Bender & Co. Some state and Indian coverage
Hydraulic Fracturing Law and Practice (Lexis) Bernard P. Bell et al. Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Regulation of Public Utilities (PUR) (Westlaw) Charles Franklin Phillips Public Utilities Reports, Inc. U.S. federal and state
Principles of Public Utility Rates (PUR) (Westlaw

James Cummings Bonbright

Public Utilities Reports, Inc.

Focus on standards of reasonable or socially optimal pricing. U.S. federal and state

Taxation of Public Utilities (Lexis) Richard E. Matheny Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
American Law of Mining (Lexis) Cheryl Outerbirdge, Frances Hartogh, and Margo MacDonnell Matthew Bender & Co. Federal, state, and international coverage
Wind Law (Lexis) Ernest E. Smith, Roderick E. Wetsel, Becky H. Diffen, and Melissa Powers Matthew Bender & Co. Focus on Texas and federal wind law
California
California Water Law and Policy (Lexis) Scott Slater Matthew Bender & Co. Some federal coverage
Foreign
Getting the Deal Through: Electricity Regulation (Lexis) John Dewar Law Business Research Ltd. Provides overviews on major electricity regulation topics for 15 countries throughout the world (including the U.S.)
Getting the Deal Through: Energy Disputes (Lexis) Ayaz Ibrahimov et al. Law Business Research Ltd. Provides overviews on major energy disputes for 8 countries throughout the world (including the U.S.)
Getting the Deal Through: Gas Regulation (Lexis) Adam Brown and David Tennant Law Business Research Ltd. Provides overviews on major gas regulation topics for 24 countries throughout the world (including the U.S.)
Getting the Deal Through: Mining (Lexis) Michael J. Bourassa and Alison Lacy Law Business Research Ltd. Provides overviews on major mining topics for 23 countries throughout the world (including the U.S.)
Getting the Deal Through: Oil Regulation (Lexis) Bob Palmer Law Business Research Ltd. Provides overviews on major oil regulation topics for 19 countries throughout the world (including the U.S.)