Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Business and Nonprofit Entities

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Business and Nonprofit Entities (see also --Antitrust Law and Trade Regulation; --Insurance Law; --Securities Regulation; --Tax Law)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

 

U.S. - General      
Choice of Business Entity (Westlaw) Robert R. Keatinge, Ann E. Conaway, and Bruce P. Ely Thomson Reuters U.S. state (especially Delaware) and federal
Organizing Corporate and Other Business Enterprises (Lexis) Mark R. Lee et al.  Matthew Bender & Co. Primarily U.S. federal
Start-Up & Emerging Companies: Planning, Financing and Operating the Successful Business (Lexis) Gregory C. Smith et al.  Law Journal Press U.S. federal and state
Business Organizations with Tax Planning  (Lexis) Mark Kaufman et al. Matthew Bender & Co. Emphasis is on partnerships and especially corporations. Some state and international.
U.S. - Corporations (primarily)
Fletcher Cyclopedia of the Law of Corporations (Westlaw) (also Law Library Closed Reserve  KF1384 .F61) Publisher's Editorial Staff Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
Corporate Governance:  Law and Practice (Lexis) Amy L. Goodman & Bart Schwartz Matthew Bender & Co. Mostly Federal
D&O Liability Handbook (Westlaw Mark A. Sargent and Dennis R. Honabach Thomson Reuters U.S. state
Law of Corporate Officers and Directors:  Rights, Duties, and Liabilities (Westlaw) Ronald J. Colombo Thomson Reuters U.S. state and federal
Director & Officer Liability: Indemnification and Insurance (Westlaw) John F. Olson, et al. Thomson Reuters U.S. state and federal
Liability of Corporate Officers and Directors (Lexis) Dan A. Bailey et al.  Matthew Bender & Co. U.S state and federal 
Law of Corporate Officers & Directors:  Indemnification and Insurance (Westlaw) Gary Lockwood Thomson Reuters U.S. state and federal
Directors and Officers Liability: Prevention, Insurance, and Indemnification (Lexis) John H. Mathias Law Journal Press U.S. state and federal
Compliance Programs and the Corporate Sentencing Guidelines (Westlaw)



Jeffrey M. Kaplan, Joseph E. Murphy, and Winthrop M. Swenson

Thomson Reuters

U.S. Sentencing Guidelines and federal statutes primarily (some state law coverage)

Corporate Counsel's Guide to Legal Audits & Investigations (Westlaw) Publisher's Editorial Staff Thomson Reuters U.S. federal primarily (some state law coverage)
The Legal Audit:  Corporate Internal Investigation (Westlaw) (also Law Library Closed Reserve  KF1414 .B76 ) Louis M. Brown, Anne O. Kandel, and Richard S. Gruner Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
Meetings of Stockholders (Westlaw) Jesse A. Finkelstein et al. Wolters Kluwer U.S. federal and state (especially Delaware)
Piercing the Corporate Veil (Westlaw) Stephen B. Presser Thomson Reuters

U.S. state and federal primarily (some coverage of selected foreign countries)

Also covers limited liability companies

Shareholder Derivative Actions:  Law and Practice (Westlaw) Deborah A. DeMott Thomson Reuters U.S. state and federal
Shareholder Derivative Litigation:  Besieging the Board (Lexis) Kevin T. Abikoff & Laura Leedy Gansler Law Journal Press U.S. state
Closely Held Corporations (Lexis) Douglass K. Moll & Robert A. Ragazzo Matthew Bender & Co. Mostly Federal
Professional Corporations & Associations (Lexis) Berrien C. Eaton, Mary Howley, ESQ., & Mark A. Muntean, ESQ. Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. state and federal
Corporate Criminal Liability and Prevention (Lexis) Richard S. Gruner Law Journal Press U.S. state and federal
Corporate Privileges and Confidential Information (Lexis) Jerome G. Snider, Howard A. Ellins and Michael S. Flynn Law Journal Press U.S. state and federal
Qualifying To Do Business in Another State (Lexis) CSC U.S. State
U.S. - Partnerships (primarily)
Partnership Law and Practice:  General and Limited Partnerships (Westlaw)  J. William Callison and Maureen A. Sullivan Thomson Reuters

U.S. state primarily (also uniform acts and relevant coverage of federal tax and securities law)

Also covers limited liability companies

Partnership Law for Securities Practitioners (Westlaw) John C. Ale Thomson Reuters

U.S. state primarily (also uniform acts and relevant coverage of federal tax, bankruptcy, and securities law)

Also covers limited liability companies

Revised Uniform Partnership Act (Westlaw) Allan Donn, Robert W. Hillman and Donald J. Weidner Thomson Reuters Revised Uniform Partnership Act and related interpretations in U.S. states that adopted the Act
Limited Liability Companies and Limited Liability Partnerships (Lexis) Thomas A. Humphreys Law Journal Press U.S. state and federal
Partnerships, Joint Ventures & Strategic Alliances (Lexis) Stephen I. Glover and Craig M. Wasserman Law Journal Press Extensive guidance on drafting limited partnership, limited liability company, and nonentity strategic alliance agreements
U.S. - Limited Liability Companies (primarily)
Ribstein and Keatinge on Limited Liability Companies (Westlaw) Larry E. Ribstein and Robert R. Keatinge Thomson Reuters

U.S. state primarily (also uniform acts and relevant coverage of federal tax, bankruptcy, and securities law)

Also compares limited liability companies to general and limited partnerships and discusses S corporations

Limited Liability Companies:  A State-by-State Guide to Law and Practice (Westlaw) J. William Callison and Maureen A. Sullivan Thomson Reuters

U.S. state primarily (also uniform acts and relevant coverage of federal tax and securities law)

Also compares limited liability companies to general and limited partnerships and S corporations

Limited Liability Companies: Law, Practice and Forms (Westlaw) Nicholas G. Karambelas Thomson Reuters

U.S. state primarily (also uniform acts, relevant coverage of federal bankruptcy and securities law and business entities in the European Union and selected foreign countries)

Also covers limited liability partnerships

Limited Liability Company Handbook (Westlaw) Mark A. Sargent and Walter D. Schwidetzky Thomson Reuters

U.S. state primarily (also uniform acts and relevant coverage of federal tax law)

Also covers limited liability partnerships

Limited Liability Companies and Limited Liability Partnerships (Lexis) Thomas A. Humphrey Law Journal Press Focus on related ERISA and IRS provisions
O'Neal and Thompson's Close Corporations and LLCs:  Law and Practice (Westlaw) F. Hodge O'Neal and Robert B. Thompson Thomson Reuters

U.S. state and federal (also uniform acts)

U.S. - Franchises
Franchising (Lexis) Gladys Glickman Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. State and Federal
Franchising: Realities and Remedies (Lexis) Harold Brown, J. Michael Dady, Jeffery S. Haff, Ronald K. Gardner Law Journal Press U.S. State and Federal
U.S. - Nonprofit Organizations
Nonprofit Organizations:  Law & Taxation (Westlaw) Marilyn E. Phelan Thomson Reuters U.S. state and federal (also, model and uniform acts)
Representing Nonprofit Organizations (Westlaw) Marilyn E. Phelan Thomson Reuters

U.S. state and federal (also, model and uniform acts)

Provides less depth than above title (Nonprofit Organizations: Law & Taxation)

Planning Tax-Exempt Organizations (Lexis) Robert J. Desiderio Matthew Bender & Co. Focus on IRC Section 501 (c)(3)
Law of Associations (Lexis) Hugh K. Webster Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
The Law of Fundraising (Lexis) Bruce R. Hopkins and Alicia M. Kirkpatrick John Wiley & Sons, Inc. U.S. federal and state 
California (primarily)
Marsh's California Corporation Law (Westlaw) Harold Marsh, Jr., R. Roy Finkle, and Larry W. Sonsini Thomson Reuters

Also covers limited liability companies and partnerships as well as close, nonprofit, professional, for-benefit, and foreign corporations 

Ballantine and Sterling California Corporation Laws (Lexis) Neil J. Wertlieb et al. Matthew Bender & Co. Includes a summary of federal taxation of corporations and partnerships
California Practice Guide: Corporations (Westlaw)  C. Hugh Friedman, James F. Fotenos, and Edward C. Rybka Thomson Reuters (The Rutter Group)

Coverage includes social purpose and benefit corporations

Also compares corporations to other forms of business entities 

California Practice Guide: Pass-Through Entities (Westlaw) James F. Fotenos and Edward C. Rybka et al. Thomson Reuters (The Rutter Group)

Also covers uniform acts and relevant U.S. federal tax and securities law

Covers partnerships and limited liability companies

California Small Business Guide: Formation, Operation, and Taxation (Lexis) Robert W. Wood Matthew Bender & Co. California and federal corporate law, with emphasis on tax planning and tax consequences
Litigating and Judging California Business Entity Governance Disputes (Lexis) Justene M. Adamec et al.  Matthew Bender & Co. Some U.S. federal
Witkin's Summary of California Law (Chapters 12 and 13) (Law Library Closed Reserve) (Westlaw) Bernard E. Witkin and members of the Witkin Legal Institute Thomson Reuters

Covers partnerships, limited liability companies, and corporations (including foreign, nonprofit, benefit, and social purpose corporations)

California Jurisprudence (Westlaw) Publisher's Editorial Staff Thomson Reuters

Covers partnerships, limited liability companies, joint-stock companies, business trusts, and corporations (including close, professional, nonprofit, and consumer cooperative corporations)

Foreign / International
Getting the Deal Through: Corporate Governance (Lexis) Holly J.Gregory Law Business Research Ltd. 24 foreign countries and the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: Corporate Reorganisations (Lexis) Nick A. Cline, Robbie McLaren and Frederick Brodie Law Business Research Ltd. 17 foreign countries and the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: Shareholder Activism & Engagement (Lexis) Willem Calkoen and Stefan Wissing Law Business Research Ltd. 12 foreign countries and the U.S.
Eckstrom's Licensing in Foreign & Domestic Operations: Joint Ventures (Westlaw) Ralph H. Folsom and Terrence F. MacLaren Thomson Reuters
Transnational Joint Ventures (Westlaw) Thomson Reuters
Getting the Deal Through: Joint Ventures (Lexis) Gavin Williams and James Farrell Law Business Research Ltd. 13 foreign countries and the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through: Franchise (Lexis) Philip F. Zeidman Law Business Research Ltd. 18 foreign countries and the U.S.