Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Estate Planning (including Wills and Trusts) and Probate

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Estate Planning (including Wills and Trusts) and Probate (see also --Retirement Plans; --Tax Law)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S.

Estate Planning Collection (Thomson Reuters Checkpoint) (Westlaw)

Expert estate planning editors

Thomson Reuters (formerly RIA)

U.S. federal and state

Modern Estate Planning (Lexis) J. Martin Burke, Michael K. Friel, and Elaine Hightower Gagliardi Matthew Bender & Co. Focus U.S. federal estate planning, some state coverage
Planning an Estate: A Guidebook of Principles & Techniques (Westlaw) Michael J. Feinfeld Thomson Reuters Some state coverage
Planning for Large Estates (Lexis) Stephanie G. Rapkin Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Tax, Estate & Financial Planning for the Elderly (Lexis) John J. Regan, Rebecca C. Morgan, and David M. English Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Family Estate Planning Guide (Westlaw) Frederick K. Hoops, Frederick H. Hoops, III, Daniel S. Hoops   Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state (emphasis on relevant federal tax law)
Wills (Westlaw) Lawrence P. Keller, Martin W. O'Toole Thomson Reuters  Some state coverage
Page on Wills (Lexis) Jeffrey A. Schoenblum Matthew Bender & Co. Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage
Will Contests (Westlaw) Eunice L. Ross and Thomas J. Reed  West  Covers all U.S. jurisdictions
Bogert's The Law of Trusts and Trustees (Westlaw George Gleason Bogert, George Taylor Bogert, and Amy Morris Hess Thomson/West Group  Focus on Uniform Trust Code and Uniform Prudent Investor Act
Revocable Trusts (Westlaw) Gerry W. Beyer and James M. Kosakow Thomson Reuters Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage
Irrevocable Trusts ​(Westlaw) Gerry W. Beyer and James M. Kosakow Thomson Reuters Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage
Trust Administration and Taxation (Lexis) Walter L. Nossaman; Joseph L. Wyatt, Jr. Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Fundamentals of Special Needs Trusts (Lexis) Stuart D. Zimring, Rebecca C. Morgan, Bradley J. Frigon, Craig C. Reeves Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal

California
California Guide to Tax, Estate & Financial Planning for the Elderly (Lexis) Stuart D. Zimring, Donna R. Bashaw  Matthew Bender & Co. California and U.S. federal
California Wills and Trusts (Lexis) John A. Hartog, Albert G. Handelman, James B. Ellis Matthew Bender & Co. Some federal coverage
Probate & Trust Proceedings (California Civil Practice) (Westlaw) Judge Arnold H. Gold, Monica Dell'osso, and Mary F. Gillick. Thomson Reuters California and U.S. federal
Probate (The Rutter Group, California Practice Guide) (Westlaw) Bruce S. Ross and Jeryll S. Cohen The Rutter Group, a division of Thomson Reuters Some federal coverage
California Probate Practice (Lexis) Jayne Lee Matthew Bender & Co. Some federal coverage
California Probate Procedure (Lexis) Arthur K. Marshall, Andrew S. Garb Matthew Bender & Co. Some federal coverage
California Trust Practice (Lexis) John A. Hartog, George R. Dirkes, Travis Neil, Nicholau W. Adams Matthew Bender & Co. Focus on non-tax issues
California Trust Litigation (Lexis) John A. Hartog, Shirley L. Kovar Matthew Bender & Co. Some federal coverage
International/Foreign
International Estate Planning (Lexis) Henry Christensen, Clare J. Rose Matthew Bender & Co. Covers over 17 jurisdictions, including the U.S.
International Encyclopaedia of Laws: Family & Succession (Westlaw) Walter Pintens Thomson Reuters Covers over 42 jurisdictions, including the U.S.