Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Health Care Law

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Health Care Law (see also: --Disabilities Law; --Employment/Labor Law; --Insurance Law; --Retirement Plans; --Tax Law; --Torts)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S. - General
Health Law Practice Guide (Westlaw)
 

Alice G. Gosfield, et al.

Thomson Reuters

U.S. federal

Treatise on Health Care Law (Lexis) Alexander M. Capron, Irwin M. Birnbaum Matthew Bender & Co. Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage

Health Care Law Sourcebook (Lexis)

Matthew Bender & Co.

U.S. federal

Health Care Law: A Practical Guide (Lexis) Scott Becker  Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
U.S. - Medical Malpractice / Liability
Hospital Negligence: Legal and Administrative Issues (Westlaw) Arthur S. Shorr West U.S. federal
Hospital Liability (Lexis) James Walker Smith Law Journal Press Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage
American Law of Medical Malpractice (Westlaw)

Steven E. Pegalis

Thomson Reuters Provides an overview of the substantive law of medical malpractice
Medical Malpractice (Lexis) David M. Harney; Richard M. Patterson  Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Medical Malpractice (Lexis) David W. Louisell, Harold Williams Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Medical Malpractice: Guide to Medical Issues (Lexis) Lee S. Goldsmith Matthew Bender & Co.
Drug Product Liability (Lexis) Frank C. Woodside III Matthew Bender & Co. Some state coverage
Drug and Medical Device Product Liability Deskbook (Lexis) James Beck Law Journal Press U.S. federal and state
U.S. - Health Care Plans/Benefits
Health Care Reform: Law and Practice (Lexis) Mary Ann Chirba, Alice A. Noble, Michael M. Maddigan Matthew Bender & Co. Some state coverage
Health Care Benefits Law (Lexis) Jeffrey D. Mamorsky Law Journal Press Some state coverage
U.S. - Miscellaneous Topics
Durable Powers of Attorney & Health Care Directives (Westlaw) Michael L.M. Jordan Thomson/West 
Long-Term Care Advocacy (Lexis) Eric M. Carlson Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal and state
Mental Disability Law: A Primer (Westlaw) John Parry Thomson Reuters Focus on ADA
The Complete Guide to Medicare Secondary Payer Compliance (Lexis) Jennifer C. Jordan Matthew Bender & Co. Some state coverage
Health Care Fraud: Enforcement and Compliance (Lexis) James F. Barger, Jr., J. Elliott Walthall, Elise May Frohsin & Benjamin P. Bucy Law Journal Press U.S. federal
California
California Medical Malpractice: Law & Practice (Westlaw)

George McDonald

Thomson Reuters

International/Foreign
Getting the Deal Through: Healthcare Enforcement & Litigation (Lexis) Michael K. Loucks, Alexandra M. Gorman and Jennifer L. Bragg Law Business Research Ltd. Covers 11 jurisdictions, including the United States
International Pharmaceutical Law and Practice (Lexis) Madelein Kleyn and Louis van Wyk Matthew Bender & Co. Covers 30 foreign countries, the U.S., and Europe generally.