Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Civil Procedure/Litigation (Multi-jurisdictional)

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Civil Procedure/Litigation (Multi-jurisdictional)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S. - General

Fundamentals of Litigation Practice (Westlaw)

David F. Herr, Roger S. Haydock, and Jeffrey W. Stempel

Thomson Reuters

U.S. federal

U.S. - Pre-Trial Procedure
Pretrial Discovery Strategy and Tactics (Westlaw) Edward J. Imwinkelried and Theodore Y. Blumoff Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
Discovery Practice (Westlaw) Roger S. Haydock and David F. Herr  Thomson Reuters Primarily U.S. federal with some coverage of state law and foreign discovery
Art of Advocacy - Discovery (Lexis) Arthur Ian Miltz Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal

Depositions: Procedure, Strategy & Technique (Westlaw)

Paul Lisnek and Michael Kaufman  Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
eDiscovery and Digital Evidence (Westlaw) Jay E. Grenig and William C. Gleisner, III Thomson Reuters Primarily U.S. federal with some coverage of state law
Arkfeld on Electronic Discovery and Evidence (Lexis) Michael R. Arkfeld Michael Arkfeld U.S. federal and state
Jurisdiction in Civil Actions (Lexis) Robert C. Casad, William M. Richman, and Stanley E. Cox Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal, some state coverage
U.S. - Trial Procedure

Lane Goldstein Trial Technique (Westlaw) Fred Lane and Scott Lane Thomson Reuters U.S. federal
U.S. - Appellate Procedure
Judgment Enforcement (Westlaw) James J. Brown Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and international
Art of Advocacy - Appeals (Lexis) Marshall Houts and Walter Rogesheske Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
U.S. - Miscellaneous 
McLaughlin on Class Actions (Westlaw) Joseph M. McLaughlin Thomson Reuters U.S. federal
Newberg on Class Actions (Westlaw) William Rubenstein Thomson Reuters U.S. federal
Class Action Playbook (Lexis) Brian Anderson, Andrew Trask Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Class Actions:  The Law of 50 States (Lexis) Matt Schulz Law Journal Press (ALM) Primarily state
Attorneys' Fees (Westlaw) Robert L. Rossi West Group Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage
Court Awarded Attorney Fees (Lexis) Mary Frances Derfner, Arthur D. Wolf Matthew Bender & Co. Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage
Guide to Multistate Litigation (Westlaw) Victor E. Schwartz, Patrick W. Lee, and Kathryn Kelly Thomson Reuters Federal and state
International / Foreign
Transnational Litigation: A Practitioner's Guide (Westlaw) Center for International Legal Studies Thomson Reuters Covers over 38 foreign jurisdictions, including the U.S.
International Civil Procedure (Westlaw) Shelby R Grubbs, ed. Aspen Publishers, Inc. A guide to the civil procedure, rules, and practices in 32 major countries, as well as provisions regarding local rules relating to arbitration
Getting the Deal Through - Class Actions (Lexis David J. Lender and Jonathan D. Polkes Law Business Research Ltd. Covers 12 foreign jurisdictions, including the U.S.
Getting the Deal Through - Enforcement of Foreign Judgments (Lexis) Oliver Browne and Tom Watret Law Business Research Ltd. Covers 20 foreign jurisdictions, including the U.S.