Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Guide to Online Secondary Sources: Banking and Finance Law

Guide to Secondary Legal Resources on Lexis and Westlaw

Banking and Finance Law (see also --Bankruptcy Law; --Commercial Law; --Consumer Protection Law; --Real Estate Law; --Securities Regulation; --Tax Law)

 

Title Author(s) or Editor(s) Publisher

Coverage

U.S.
Michie on Banks and Banking (Lexis) A. Hewson Michie Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Banking Law & Regulation (Westlaw) Michael P. Malloy Wolters Kluwer U.S. federal
Banking Law (Lexis) Donald Resseguie Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal, some international coverage
Banking Law Manual: Federal Regulation of Financial Holding Companies, Banks and Thrifts (Lexis) Patricia A. McCoy Matthew Bender & Co. U.S. federal
Regulatory Compliance Guide for Bankers (Lexis) Robert E. Braun Sheshunoff

U.S. federal

Electronic Banking Compliance (Lexis) Margaret L. Simmons Sheshunoff Covers the six discrete electronic services, processes or products to which federal rules and regulations apply
Venture Capital & Small Business Financings (Westlaw) Robert J. Haft, Arthur F. Haft, and Michele Haft Hudson Thomson Reuters Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage
Private Equity Funds: Business Structure and Operations (Lexis) James Schell Law Journal Press U.S. federal
The Law and Regulation of Financial Institutions (Lexis) Milton R. Schroeder A.S. Pratt U.S. federal
Guide to Commercial Banking Law (Lexis) Pamela S. Gotcher A.S. Pratt U.S. federal
Law of Suretyship & Guaranty (Westlaw) Peter A. Alces Thomson Reuters U.S. federal and state
Lender Liability: Law, Practice, & Prevention (Westlaw)

Gerald L. Blanchard

Thomson Reuters

Covers common and statutory U.S. law

Lender Liability Law and Litigation (Lexis) Sally A. Aiello Matthew Bender & Co. Covers both lender liability prevention issues and litigation
The Law of Lender Liability (Lexis) Jessica Gabel A.S. Pratt Primarily U.S. federal, some state coverage
Lender Liability and Banking Litigation (Lexis) Edward F. Mannino  Law Journal Press U.S. federal. Covers contract claims, torts, bankruptcy, statutory claims, director and officer liability, and minimizing risk of liability.
Banking Crimes: Fraud, Money Laundering, and Embezzlement (Westlaw) John K. Villa Thomson Reuters U.S. federal
State & Local Government Debt Financing (Westlaw) James A. Coniglio Thomson Reuters Focus on U.S. bond financing
Bank Policies and Procedures:  A Working Guide to Regulatory Compliance (Lexis) Joy B. Boone Sheshunoff U.S. federal
Brady on Bank Checks and Funds Transfers (Lexis) Richard B. Hagedorn A.S. Pratt U.S. federal and state
The Law of Bank Deposits, Collections, and Credit Cards (Lexis) Barkley & Barbara Clark A.S. Pratt U.S. federal
Securitizations: Legal and Regulatory Issues (Lexis) Patrick D. Dolan et al.  Law Journal Press U.S. federal, some international coverage
International / Foreign
International Banking Law and Regulation (Westlaw) Center for International Legal Studies Thomson Reuters Covers 70 jurisdictions, including the United States
International Regulation of Finance and Investment (Westlaw) Raphael J. Rabalais, Jr. Thomson Reuters
Getting the Deal Through: Banking Regulation (Lexis) Richard K Kim Law Business Research Ltd. Provides overviews on major banking topics for 23 countries throughout the world (including the U.S.).